FIA WRC - RallyRACC Catalunya - Rally de España - Racecard

Michelin Motorsport is heading to the penultimate rally of the season, RallyRACC Catalunya - Rally de España. It's the only true mixed-surface round of the WRC. Medium-speed gravel roads contrast with smooth, fast, circuit-like asphalt.Click on the photo to download our racecard.


Tänak wins in Wales

The 2019 Wales Rally GB – Round 12 of the FIA World Rally Championship – was won by Toyota/Michelin’s Ott Tänak, ahead of Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) and Sébastien Ogier (Citroën/Michelin). The all-new Michelin Latitude Cross S70 helped Kalle Rovanperä to claim the WRC2 Pro spoils and clinch the class’s title.


WRC: Neuville wins in Spain, while Tänak takes 2019 title* with Michelin

Despite claiming an assertive victory at the RallyRACC Catalunya-Rally de España, Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) failed to prevent second-placed Ott Tänak (Toyota/Michelin) from pocketing the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship Drivers’ crown* with one round to go. The Estonian – who earned Michelin’s 55th WRC title in the process – is the first non-Frenchman to win the coveted prize since 2003.



Going into Spain’s round of the championship, Tänak enjoyed cushions of 28 and 41 points respectively over Sébastien Ogier (Citroën/Michelin) and Neuville, which meant he could potentially sew up the title fight ahead of the campaign’s final clash in Australia.

Ogier’s chances were all but scuppered on the opening morning when the outgoing time champ was delayed by power-steering trouble, but Hyundai Motorsport had no intention of throwing in the towel. The Korean brand even monopolised the podium after Leg 1’s gravel stages which saw Michelin rubber help Sébastien Loeb, Neuville and Dani Sordo to finish in that order.

When the action switched to asphalt on Saturday, Neuville soon emerged in front, however, chased by Sordo, while four fastest times in a row took Tänak past Loeb into third spot.

The Estonian knew that second place would suffice to secure the title and Hyundai’s front-running pair did everything in their power to ward off the Toyota driver’s pressure on Sunday morning.

Running on hard-compound Michelin Pilot Sport H5 tyres, they succeeded in concluding the day’s first three stages in front, but Tänak pulled out all the stops on the 20.72-kilometre Power Stage (La Mussara) to post the best effort and ease past Sordo into second place by a margin of just four-tenths of a second!

In doing so, he clocked up Michelin’s 27th Drivers’ crown in world-class rallying and stemmed a long series that had seen French rivals Loeb (nine titles) and Ogier (six) reign supreme in the sport for 15 years.

In contrast to the woes it suffered in the battle for overall victory, Citroën Racing and Michelin dominated the WRC2 Pro and WRC2 battles to win with Norway’s Mads Ostberg and Frenchman Eric Camilli respectively.

The final round of the 2019 FIA WRC will take teams to Australia on November 14-17 when the battle between Hyundai and Toyota for the top Manufacturers’ prize will be settled.

(*) Subject to the publication of the official results by the FIA

2019 RallyRACC Catalunya Rally de España – final positions:

1. Neuville/Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC), 3h7m39.6s

2. Tänak/Järveoja (Toyota Yaris WRC), +17.2s

3. Sordo/Del Barrio (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC), +17.6s

4. Loeb/Elena (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC), +53.9s

5. Latvala/Anttila (Toyota Yaris WRC), +1m0.2s

6. Evans/Martin (Ford Fiesta RS WRC), +1m14.2s

7. Suninen/Lehtinen (Ford Fiesta RS WRC), +1m47.6s

8. Ogier/Ingrassia (Citroën C3 WRC), +4m20.5s

9. Ostberg/Eriksen (Citroën C3 R5), +8m24.6s (1st, WRC2 Pro)

10. Camilli/Veillas (Citroën C3 R5), +8m47.2s (1st, WRC2)



MotoGP™ : Márquez takes Australia spoils

The dramatic Pramac Generac Australian Motorcycle GP (Round 17 of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship) was won by Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team). Second and third at Phillip Island were Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) and local hero Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) whose tyre choices meant there were three different combinations of Michelin rubber on the podium.  


MotoGP™ - Pramac Generac Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix - Racecard

For round 17 of the 2019 MotoGP World Championship, Michelin and the paddock head to Australia’s Phillip Island Circuit, one of the most demanding racetracks on the MotoGP calendar.Click on the photo to download our racecard.


MotoGP™: Victory for Márquez on Honda’s home turf

Repsol Honda Team’s Marc Márquez pocketed his tenth win of the 2019 MotoGPTM campaign by winning the year’s 16th clash – the Motul Grand Prix of Japan. Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha Petronas SRT) and Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) were second and third to make it three different bikemakers and as many different Michelin tyre pairings on Sunday’s podium. Honda has sealed the Constructors’ world title.


MotoGP™ - Motul Grand Prix of Japan - Racecard

Michelin is ready for the busiest 3-weeks of the MotoGP season as the championship begins a trio of races starting with Motul Grand Prix of Japan before heading to Australia and Malaysia. Download our racecard to to find out more about this round!Click on the photo to dowload the racecard.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018