Second Spa success for the N°8 Toyota/Michelin!

The N°8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid/Michelin (Buemi/Nakajima/Alonso) overcame atrocious weather to secure its second straight victory at Spa-Francorchamps. The six-hour race was interrupted on several occasions due to hailstones and even snow. The other podium finishers were the N°3 Rebellion/Michelin N°3 (Berthon/Laurent/Menezes) and the N°11 BR1-AER/Michelin (Aleshin/Petrov/Vandoorne). In addition to securing the top prize in LMP2 with Dragonspeed’s N°31 Oreca-Gibson (Maldonado/Gonzalez/Davidson), Michelin also topped the LM GTE Pro and LM GTE Am classes with the N°97 Aston Martin (Martin/Lynn) and N°77 Dempsey-Proton Porsche (Ried/Pera/Campbell). Porsche and the N°92 crew Christensen/Estre are the 2018/2019 FIA WEC GT Manufacturers and Drivers champions with Michelin.


FIA WEC - 6 Hours of Spa - Racecard

All you ever wanted to know about the 6 Hours of Spa, penultimate of the 2018/2019 World Endurance Championship (WEC) Super Season.Click on the photo to download the racecard.


Victory at Sebring for Toyota/Michelin

Round six of the 2018/2019 FIA World Endurance Championship at Sebring, Florida, USA, was won by the N°8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid/Michelin of Buemi/Nakajima/Alonso. The N°91 Porsche/Michelin of Lietz/Bruni came out on top after a thrilling battle in LM GTE Pro.



After dominating every practice session for the 1,000 Miles of Sebring and smashing the previous lap record for the Florida circuit in qualifying with Fernando Alonso in the N°8 car, the two Toyota TS050 Hybrids unsurprisingly dominated the race itself.

Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Fernando Alonso Miles followed up their previous 2018/2019 WEC successes at Spa and Le Mans to top Saturday evening’s order. The N°7 car of team-mates Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez completed the distance a lap back after being caught up in a tangle with an LM GTE Am runner.

The third-placed N°11 BR1/Michelin (SMP Racing, Aleshin/Petrov/Hartley) finished 11 laps short, chased by LMP2 victors Heinemeier-Hansson/King/Stevens. Rebellion Racing’s N°1 BR1/Michelin and the N°17 BR1/Michelin (SMP Racing) both crashed out.

Spectators were treated to yet another enthralling scrap in LM GTE Pro between Porsche, BMW and Ford who finished in that order to make it an all-Michelin podium. Victory went to the N°91 Porsche of Richard Lietz/Gianmaria Bruni, but only 816-thousandths of a second clear of the N°81 BMW M8 GTE (Tomczyk/Catsburg/Sims) which took advantage of its last pit stop to fit Michelin wet weather tyres as rain swept across the track during the closing moments. The N°67 Ford GT (Priaulx/Tincknell/Bomarito) had to settle for third spot despite leading for much of the evening.


There was another win for the N°77 Porsche/Michelin (Ried/Andlauer/Campbell) in LM GTE Am, ahead of the Spirit of Race-run Ferrari/Michelin of Flohr/Castelacci/Fisichella. The class’s other podium finisher was the N°56 Porsche/Michelin which had to be rebuilt after catching fire earlier in the week.

In LMP2, Signatech-Alpine (Lapierre/Negrao/Thiriet) celebrated its return to the Michelin fold by securing second place. The N°31 Oreca-Nissan/Michelin (DragonSpeed, Gonzalez/Maldonado/Davidson was third.

The weekend’s action continues with the 12 Hours of Sebring, round two of the 2019 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, which starts on Saturday afternoon local time.

To cover the two races, Michelin took 16,000 tyres to Florida.

The next 2018/2019 FIA WEC clash will see teams travel to Belgium for the 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps on May 2

FIA Formula E

Vergne scores second straight Formula E crown!

DS Techeetah/Michelin’s Jean-Eric Vergne emerged from the 2019 New York City E-Prix as the first driver in Formula E history to claim the title twice. The Frenchman successfully defended his 2017/2018 crown after the weekend’s doubleheader meeting in New York City, USA, which produced wins for Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams/Michelin) and Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing/Michelin). DS Techeetah/Michelin is Season 5’s Teams’ champion.


MotoGP: Marquez in control at the Sachsenring

Since the start of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship, Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) has failed to go two consecutive races without winning. This weekend, true to form, the Spaniard bounced back from his Netherlands defeat to score an assertive victory at Germany’s Sachsenring where he was joined on the podium by Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol).


MotoGP™ - HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland - Racecard

All you need to know about the HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland, 9th round of the MotoGP championshipClic on the photo to download the racecard.


MotoGP™: Viñales and Yamaha hit top form at Assen

The Motul TT Assen –round eight of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship – was won by Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP’s Maverick Viñales, ahead of Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) and Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT). Every one of the six Michelin tyre specifications available for the race was used, with three different specs making it onto the podium to provide a further illustration of the French products’ performance and versatility.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018