Tänak triumphs in the land of the Flying Finns

The 2018 Rally Finland saw Estonia’s Ott Tänak steer his Toyota Yaris WRC/Michelin to a resounding victory ahead of Norwegian rival Mads Ostberg (Citroën/Michelin) and Finn Jari-Matti Latvala (Toyota/Michelin). The championship’s pacesetters Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) and Sébastien Ogier (Ford/Michelin) were fifth and ninth respectively.


Neste Rally Finland - Racecard

All you need to know about the Neste Rally Finland with our racecard.Clic on the photo to download it.


Thierry Neuville takes Portugal win

After his success in snowy Sweden in February, Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) was first past the post again at the end of the weekend’s Rally de Portugal. The Belgian, who has gone to the top of the provisional 2018 Drivers’ standings, was joined on the podium by Ford M-Sport/Michelin’s Elfyn Evans and Teemu Suninen.

The first day of the 2018 Rally de Portugal took an exceptional toll on the leading crews, with no fewer than seven of the 13 factory drivers either retiring or picking up big delays.

SS2 saw early leader Ott Tanak hit a rock and damage his engine, while his Toyota/Michelin team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala broke his suspension on SS3.

Day 1’s afternoon loop claimed five-time Portugal victor Sébastien Ogier (Ford/Michelin, accident on SS5), and Hayden Paddon (Hyundai/Michelin) crashed out of the lead on the following test. Andreas Mikkelsen (Hyundai/Michelin) had to cope without power steering and Citroën/Michelin’s Kris Meeke and Craig Breen both suffered punctures.

Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) emerged from the chaos as the overnight leader, chased by M-Sport/Michelin’s Evans and Suninen and team-mate Dani Sordo. Both Hyundai drivers spent the entire day on the soft-compound version of the Michelin Pilot Sport (S5), in spite of the hot weather.

For the remainder of the weekend, the Belgian was able to control from in front to earn his first Rally de Portugal victory and ease into the lead of the 2018 WRC Drivers’ standings. In his wake, Evans, Suninen, Sordo and Esapekka Lappi (Toyota/Michelin) produced a thrilling battle for the podium’s other two steps which worked out in favour of the Ford pair after Sordo was handed a 10-second penalty for clouting a chicane on the super-special. Suninen joined the top-three celebrations for the first time of his burgeoning career.

Ogier, who shares the record for the highest number of Portugal wins, failed to finish in the points. He also lost his appeal against the stewards’ decision after Rally Mexico and is now 19 points short of Neuville in the championship.

The WRC runners tended to cut the stages up badly which caused havoc in the WRC2 fight. The reigning champion Pontus Tidemand (Skoda/Michelin) recovered from a poor start to top the order, while Poland’s Lukasz Pieniazek (Skoda) and Frenchman Stéphane Lefebvre (Citroën) made it an all-Michelin podium in this class which allows competition between tyre firms.

The WRC’s next port of call will be Sardinia, Italy, on June 8-10.


MotoGP: Lorenzo claims Red Bull Ring spoils for Ducati/Michelin

The Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich – Round 11 of the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship – saw Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team/Michelin) emerge on top after a tremendous scrap with Marc Marquez (2nd, Repsol Honda Team/Michelin) to collect his third victory of the season at Austria’s Red Bull Ring. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team/Michelin) was third.


MotoGP™ : eyetime Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich - Racecard

All you need to know about the eyetime Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich with our racecard.Click on the photo to download it.


MotoGP™: Dovizioso heads Ducati Team/Michelin 1-2 finish at Brno

The Monster Energy Grand Prix České Republiky, Round 10 of the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship, was won by Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team/Michelin). The pole-winner was joined on the podium at Brno, Czech Republic, by team-mate Jorge Lorenzo and the championship pace-setter Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team/Michelin). 


MotoGP™: Monster Energy Grand Prix České republiky - Racecard

All you need to know about the Monster Energy Grand Prix České republikyClic on the photo to donwload the racecard

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2017 Records

Sustainable development