2019 Dakar: 18th straight win for KTM and Michelin

Three years after his maiden Dakar success, Toby Price (Red Bull KTM Factory Team/ Michelin) finished on top again to earn Michelin’s 36th victory on the cross-country classic, as well as KTM’s 18th on the trot in association with the French tyre firm. The Australian finished clear of his team-mate and last year’s victor Matthias Walkner, while Sam Sunderland (Red Bull KTM Factory Team/Michelin) made it an all-KTM/Michelin top three.  

FIA World Council decisions

A number of key decisions were taken at the FIA World Council meeting that was held in Saint Petersburg, Russia, on December 5. Many of them referred to some of the global championships in which Michelin is active, namely the WEC, WRC and Formula E.

The Nürburgring 24 Hours delivers all-Michelin podium

Michelin runners monopolised the top three places at this year’s Nürburgring 24 Hours with three different carmakers. The top prize went to the Phoenix-run N°4 Audi R8 LMS of Kaffer/Stippler/Vervisch/Vanthoor, ahead of the N°911 Porsche 911 GT3-R (Manthey Racing, Bamber/Estre/Christensen/Vanthoor) and N°3 Mercedes-AMG GT3 (Black Falcon, Buhk/Haupt/Jaeger/Stolz).


For once, the 25.378km Nordschleife stayed dry throughout the 2019 Nürburgring 24 Hours to provide the Michelin Pilot Sport GT slick with the perfect opportunity to showcase its performance and consistency all the way to the finish line, just one week after the Michelin Pilot Sport Endurance’s triumph at Le Mans.

With the exception of a brief period when the N°1 Porsche/Michelin (Lietz/Makowiecki/Pilet/Tandy) appeared in front, the pole-winning N°2 Mercedes-AMG/Michelin led early on until it was passed on Saturday evening by Kevin Estre (N°911 Porsche/Michelin) who pulled off a brave move that saw him put two wheels on the grass along the long Döttinger Höhe straight. The N°2 Mercedes was then involved in a collision and later left the track.

The N°911 Porsche topped the order throughout the night and was still ahead with two hours remaining, when Race Control handed it a time penalty (5m32s) for excessive speed under yellow flags. The decision handed the lead to the N°4 Audi R8 LMS (Pierre Kaffer/Franck Stippler/Fred Vervisch/Dries Vanthoor) which had never been far behind since the start.

The only Michelin-equipped Phoenix-run Audi went on to shrug off late pressure from the N°911 Porsche to win by a margin of 4m41s.

Despite the woes suffered by the N°2 Mercedes, Black Falcon earned a footing on the podium with its N°3 car, while the N°14 Audi R8 LMS/Michelin (Winkelhock/Haase/Fässler/Ratz) and N°12 Porsche/Michelin (Klohs/Kern/Olsen//Cairoli) rounded out the weekend’s all-Michelin top five.

FIA Formula E

Vergne scores second straight Formula E crown!

DS Techeetah/Michelin’s Jean-Eric Vergne emerged from the 2019 New York City E-Prix as the first driver in Formula E history to claim the title twice. The Frenchman successfully defended his 2017/2018 crown after the weekend’s doubleheader meeting in New York City, USA, which produced wins for Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams/Michelin) and Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing/Michelin). DS Techeetah/Michelin is Season 5’s Teams’ champion.


MotoGP: Marquez in control at the Sachsenring

Since the start of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship, Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) has failed to go two consecutive races without winning. This weekend, true to form, the Spaniard bounced back from his Netherlands defeat to score an assertive victory at Germany’s Sachsenring where he was joined on the podium by Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol).


MotoGP™ - HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland - Racecard

All you need to know about the HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland, 9th round of the MotoGP championshipClic on the photo to download the racecard.


MotoGP™: Viñales and Yamaha hit top form at Assen

The Motul TT Assen –round eight of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship – was won by Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP’s Maverick Viñales, ahead of Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) and Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT). Every one of the six Michelin tyre specifications available for the race was used, with three different specs making it onto the podium to provide a further illustration of the French products’ performance and versatility.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018