Hyundai/Michelin’s Sordo wins the day in Sardinia

Dani Sordo’s 163rd world class start saw the 36-year old Spaniard claim the second WRC win of his career at the 2019 Rally Italia Sardegna, one of the championship’s most punishing tests of tyres. Ott Tänak led until a power-steering problem delayed him on the week’s final stage, which allowed Teemu Suninen (Ford/Michelin) and Andreas Mikkelsen (Hyundai/Michelin) to clinch second and third places. Kalle Rovanperä (Skoda/Michelin) topped the WRC2 Pro order once again.


Portugal glory for Toyota/Michelin

Twenty-five years after their last win together on the event as a WRC round*, Toyota and Michelin claimed the top prize at this year’s Rally de Portugal thanks to Ott Tänak. Second and third were Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) and Sébastien Ogier (Citroën/Michelin). With half of the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship completed, Ogier tops the Provisional Drivers’ standings, two and ten points clear of his Estonian and Belgian rivals respectively. The new Skoda Fabia R5 Evo/Michelin got its career of to a flying start with a one-two finish in WRC2 Pro thanks to Kalle Rovanperä and Jan Kopecky.


Sixth WRC title for Ogier and Toyota’s fourth, all with Michelin

The 2018 Rally Australia saw Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia claim their sixth Drivers’ world title and their second with Ford/Michelin. Jari-Matti Latvala earned Toyota Gazoo Racing’s 50th world class victory to make sure of the Manufacturers’ crown with Michelin.


Thelast round of what turned out to be a particularly thrilling 2018 FIA World Rally Championship was always going to be a tense affair, with three drivers and three carmakers still in contention for their respective titles.

The chances of Belgium’s Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) took a blow when he dropped a minute on SS6 (Sherwood) and fell to 10th overall. Any remaining hopes of a maiden crown evaporated when he retired on Sunday morning.

After an inconsistent start to the week, Ott Tänak (Toyota/Michelin) appeared at the top of the leaderboard on Saturday, aided by six fastest stage times. To clinch the sport’s supreme prize, the Estonian knew he had to keep that lead to the flag and score maximum Power Stage points, with Ogier finishing seventh or worse.

The latter was effectively seventh overall after Leg 1 when his running order meant he was forced to sweep the stages. Trouble for Craig Breen (Citroën/Michelin) the following day promoted him to sixth which, if he could hold position, would be enough to win the championship.

Overnight rain made Sunday’s conditions muddy and slippery and the unpredictable weather contributed to the unmistakable tension when it came to choosing tyres, with crews frequently opting for a combination of medium-compound Michelin LTX Force M6s and hard H4s.

A surefooted final-day performance by Ogier and Ingrassia allowed them to wrap up their sixth title when Tänak crashed out on the penultimate test.


Jari-Matti Latvala took over from his team-mate at the top of the order to earn Toyota’s 50th WRC victory, while fourth place for his team-mate Esapekka Lappi made sure of the Japanese make’s fourth Manufacturers’ title, two decades after its third.


New Zealander Hayden Paddon (Hyundai/Michelin) and Norway’s Mads Ostberg (Citroën/Michelin) were Rally Australia’s other two podium finishers.

Fans will now have to wait until January 24-27 for world championship action to resume with the 2019 Rallye Monte-Carlo.

FIA Formula E

Vergne scores second straight Formula E crown!

DS Techeetah/Michelin’s Jean-Eric Vergne emerged from the 2019 New York City E-Prix as the first driver in Formula E history to claim the title twice. The Frenchman successfully defended his 2017/2018 crown after the weekend’s doubleheader meeting in New York City, USA, which produced wins for Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams/Michelin) and Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing/Michelin). DS Techeetah/Michelin is Season 5’s Teams’ champion.


MotoGP: Marquez in control at the Sachsenring

Since the start of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship, Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) has failed to go two consecutive races without winning. This weekend, true to form, the Spaniard bounced back from his Netherlands defeat to score an assertive victory at Germany’s Sachsenring where he was joined on the podium by Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol).


MotoGP™ - HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland - Racecard

All you need to know about the HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland, 9th round of the MotoGP championshipClic on the photo to download the racecard.


MotoGP™: Viñales and Yamaha hit top form at Assen

The Motul TT Assen –round eight of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship – was won by Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP’s Maverick Viñales, ahead of Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) and Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT). Every one of the six Michelin tyre specifications available for the race was used, with three different specs making it onto the podium to provide a further illustration of the French products’ performance and versatility.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018