Twenty-nine champions for FIA endurance racing Hall of Fame

After creating Halls of Fame for its Formula 1 and Rally World Championships, the FIA (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) has now added an endurance racing section at its Paris headquarters. Twenty-nine champions were inducted at a special ceremony on Monday evening (December 2). It was organised in association with Michelin, a long-time major player in the discipline.


Rebellion/Michelin takes Shanghai win

The 4 Hours of Shanghai – Round 3 of the 2019/2020 FIA World Endurance Championship – was won by the N°1 Rebellion R13/Michelin of Senna/Menezes/Nato. Second and third were the N°8 and N°7 Michelin-equipped Toyota Hybrids which were carrying ballast in keeping with the latest regulations. The LMGTE Pro and Am laurels went to Ferrari/Michelin and Aston Martin/Michelin respectively.


Seventh heaven for Toyota/Michelin at Fuji

Seven is a lucky number in Japan. It is also the number of times Toyota/Michelin has won its home round – the 6 Hours of Fuji – since the FIA World Endurance Championship’s creation in 2012. This year’s victory went to the N°8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid of Buemi/Nakajima/Hartley, chased by the N°7 sister car of Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez. Michelin came first in all four classes thanks to the N°29 Oreca07-Gibson in LMP2, and the N°95 and N°90 Aston Martins in LMGTE Pro and Am.

Despite carrying ballast due to the team’s success at Silverstone, Toyota’s two TS050 Hybrids dominated the 2019/2020 FIA WEC’s second clash, posting the fastest lap times in free practice, qualifying and the 232-lap race itself on their way to collecting the team’s fourth one-two result on home soil.

Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Brendon Hartley overcame a drive-through penalty for a pit-stop infraction to finish 33.955s clear of the N°7 prototype which missed a turn at the start. The N°1 Rebellion R13/Michelin (Senna/Menezes/Nato) was third after splitting the two Japanese machines early on.

A shower in the first half of the race prompted some teams to fit rain tyres, but the conditions stayed more or less dry this year as the thermometer climbed to around 25°C.

Michelin’s partners had a choice between soft and medium slicks which allowed them to double stint. Indeed, it was thanks to its decision not to change tyres during its last stop that Team Nederlands (N°29 Oreca07-Gibson, Van Eerd/Van Der Garde/De Vries) managed to clinch its maiden LMP2 win after a fierce scrap with three opponents competing on rival tyres. With three laps remaining, Nick de Vries even posted the class’s fastest race lap to showcase the long-lasting performance credentials of his Michelins.

The LM GTE Pro winner was Aston Martin Racing/Michelin’s N°95 Vantage AMR (Sorensen/Thiim). Marco Sorensen passed Gimmi Bruni (N°91 Porsche/Michelin) during the first hour and then held firm, aided by a smart tyre strategy during the short spell of rain. The N°92 Porsche/Michelin (Estre/Christensen) and N°97 Aston Martin/Michelin (Lynn/Martin) were second and third.

Aston Martin and Michelin took the LM GTE Am spoils, as well, thanks to TF Sport’s N°90 Vantage (Yoluc/Eastwood/Adam) which led from start to finish. The N°88 Porsche and N°98 Aston Martin tangled at lights-out, leaving the N°83 Ferrari/Michelin and N°57 Porsche/Michelin to pick up podium placings.

The 2019/2010 FIA WEC will remain in Asia for round three – China’s 4 Hours of Shanghai – on November 10.

2019 6 Hours of Fuji – final positions:

1. Buemi/Nakajima/Hartley (Toyota TS050 Hybrid N°8), 232 laps

2. Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez (Toyota TS050 Hybrid N°7), +33.955s

3. Senna/Menezes/Nato (Rebellion R13-Gibson N°1), +2 laps

4. Van Eerd/Van der Garde/De Vries (Oreca07-Gibson N°29), +10 laps (1st, LMP2)

5. Gonzalez/Da Costa/Davidson (Oreca07-Gibson N°38), +10 laps

6. Tung/Aubry/Stevens (Oreca07-Gibson N°37), +11 laps

7. Hanson/Albuquerque/Jarvis (Oreca07-Gibson N°22), +12 laps

8. Patterson/Yamashita/Fjordbach (Oreca07-Gibson N°33), +13 laps

9. Lapierre/Borga/Coigny (Oreca07-Gibson N°42), +10 laps

10. Robertson/Simpson/Smith (Ginetta G60-AER N°6) +14 laps


FIA Formula E

Formula E: Britons rule at 2019/2020 curtain raiser in Saudi Arabia

Sam Bird (Envision Virgin Racing/Michelin) and Alexander Sims (BMW I Andretti Motorsport) took the two wins at the opening meeting of the 2019/2020 Formula E Championship in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia. Michelin has been the official tyre supplier to the FIA’s all-electric racing series since its creation in 2014.


Citroën and Michelin: a winning combination in the WRC

Citroën has announced its intention to curtail its involvement in the FIA World Rally Championship. Together, the French car firm and Michelin have harvested five Manufacturers’ titles, four Drivers’ crowns, 58 world-class wins and 150 podium finishes.


MotoE: Ferrari claims inaugural Enel FIM MotoE™ World Cup

Fifth place at the last round of the 2019 Enel FIM MotoE™ World Cup sufficed for Matteo Ferrari (Trentino Gresini MotoE) to become the new competition’s first champion. The weekend’s two races were won by pole-winner Eric Granado (Avintia Esponsorama Racing). 


MotoGP™: Márquez wraps up 2019 with home success

The Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana was won by Spaniard Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team). Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha Petronas SRT) was second, while Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) made it three different bikemakers on the podium. All three riders chose the same tyre combination for the 19th and last round of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship.  

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018