Tänak earns Michelin’s 333rd WRC victory

The first Rally Chile to count towards the FIA World Rally Championship was won by Estonia’s Ott Tänak (Toyota Yaris WRC/Michelin) who notched up Michelin’s 333rd WRC success in the process. French world champions Sébastien Ogier (Citroën/Michelin) and Sébastien Loeb (Hyundai/Michelin) were second and third, while WRC2 victor was the young Finnish Michelin runner Kalle Rovanperä (Skoda). 


FIA WRC - COPEC Rally Chile - Racecard

All you ever wanted to know about the Rally Chile, 6th round of the World Rally Championship (WRC).Click on the photo to download the racecard.


Ogier claims record fifth Rally GB victory!

Sébastien Ogier (Ford/Michelin) notched up his fifth Wales Rally GB to become the most successful driver in the event’s history. The result has promoted him to second place in the provisional championship standings, seven and 14 points clear respectively of Thierry Neuville (5th, Hyundai/Michelin) and Ott Tänak (Toyota/Michelin) who didn’t have the happiest of weekends. Skoda/Michelin secured a one-two finish in WRC2.

A drama-filled second day in Wales not only transformed the rally’s leaderboard but also shook up the provisional Drivers’ standings.

In the wake of consecutive wins in Finland, Germany and Turkey, Tänak soon pulled out a handsome lead to emerge almost a minute clear of his closest chaser by the end of Day 1, but he was ultimately side-lined by a radiator problem on Saturday’s Sweet Lamb 2.

The earlier first attempt at the same stage saw championship pacesetter Neuville squander almost a minute when his Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC slipped into a ditch.

These incidents left four drivers in contention for the weekend’s win, namely five-time world champion Ogier, Toyota/Michelin’s Jari-Matti Latvala and Esapekka Lappi, and Craig Breen (Citroën/Michelin).

This quartet was covered by less than 15 seconds going into the short final leg on Sunday (55km) when Latvala appeared briefly in front. However, his slender cushion of just two-tenths of a second was insufficient to stay ahead of Ogier who posted three consecutive fastest times to beat the Finn by a margin of 10.6s at the flag. Lappi rounded out the all-Michelin podium.

The British fixture lived up every bit to its reputation by delivering its traditional challenging cocktail of slippery mud, rain and occasional patches of fog.

Michelin’s WRC runners were able to choose between the new soft-compound LTX Force S6 and the harder M6 (medium) which the crews chose as a function of the conditions of the moment and the characteristics of their respective cars. Ogier favoured a mix of M6s and S6s, but the majority of his rivals opted for the S6.

Finnish youngster Kalle Rovanperä, who recently turned 18, scored an assertive win in WRC2, ahead of Swedish Skoda Fabia R5/Michelin team-mate Pontus Tidemand. Briton Gus Greensmith (Ford/Michelin) made it an all-Michelin top three.

FIA Formula E

Monaco glory for Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin)

Pole-sitter Jean-Eric Vergne collected his second win of the 2018/2019 FIA Formula E Championship in Monaco to go top of the provisional Drivers’ standings. Oliver Rowland (2nd, Nissan e.dams/Michelin), Felipe Massa (3rd, Venturi Formula E Team/Michelin) and Pascal Wehrlein (4th, Mahindra Racing/Michelin) made it four different teams in the day’s top-four, blanketed by just 1.439 seconds! 

FIA Formula E

ABB FIA Formula E - E-Prix Monaco

All you need to know about the Monaco E-Prix, round 6 of the 2018/2019 ABB FIA Formula E season.Click on the photo to download our racecard.


MotoGP™: Márquez takes assertive Spanish GP win

Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) led the 25-lap Gran Premio Red Bull de España from start to finish to claim his second win of the campaign after Argentina. The reigning champion was joined on the all-Spanish podium of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship’s fourth round by Alex Rins (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR) and Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP). The day’s top three featured three different bikemakers. 


Second Spa success for the N°8 Toyota/Michelin!

The N°8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid/Michelin (Buemi/Nakajima/Alonso) overcame atrocious weather to secure its second straight victory at Spa-Francorchamps. The six-hour race was interrupted on several occasions due to hailstones and even snow. The other podium finishers were the N°3 Rebellion/Michelin N°3 (Berthon/Laurent/Menezes) and the N°11 BR1-AER/Michelin (Aleshin/Petrov/Vandoorne). In addition to securing the top prize in LMP2 with Dragonspeed’s N°31 Oreca-Gibson (Maldonado/Gonzalez/Davidson), Michelin also topped the LM GTE Pro and LM GTE Am classes with the N°97 Aston Martin (Martin/Lynn) and N°77 Dempsey-Proton Porsche (Ried/Pera/Campbell). Porsche and the N°92 crew Christensen/Estre are the 2018/2019 FIA WEC GT Manufacturers and Drivers champions with Michelin.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018