Hyundai/Michelin’s Sordo wins the day in Sardinia

Dani Sordo’s 163rd world class start saw the 36-year old Spaniard claim the second WRC win of his career at the 2019 Rally Italia Sardegna, one of the championship’s most punishing tests of tyres. Ott Tänak led until a power-steering problem delayed him on the week’s final stage, which allowed Teemu Suninen (Ford/Michelin) and Andreas Mikkelsen (Hyundai/Michelin) to clinch second and third places. Kalle Rovanperä (Skoda/Michelin) topped the WRC2 Pro order once again.


Portugal glory for Toyota/Michelin

Twenty-five years after their last win together on the event as a WRC round*, Toyota and Michelin claimed the top prize at this year’s Rally de Portugal thanks to Ott Tänak. Second and third were Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) and Sébastien Ogier (Citroën/Michelin). With half of the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship completed, Ogier tops the Provisional Drivers’ standings, two and ten points clear of his Estonian and Belgian rivals respectively. The new Skoda Fabia R5 Evo/Michelin got its career of to a flying start with a one-two finish in WRC2 Pro thanks to Kalle Rovanperä and Jan Kopecky.


Neuville claims 10th WRC victory in Corsica

Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) scored the 10th WRC victory of his career and his second in Corsica at world championship level after Elfyn Evans (Ford/Michelin) was cruelly toppled from the lead on the final stage. Second place ended up in the hands of Sébastien Ogier (Citroën/Michelin), ahead of the heartbroken Welshman.

In years to come, the 2019 Tour de Corse will be remembered as the one Evans and his Ford Fiesta RS WRC/Michelin came agonisingly close to winning. Indeed, the Welshman hit the ground running to win Friday’s SS1, but then lost first place a first time on SS6 when he was delayed by a slower-running competitor. The stewards later decided to reinstate his lead, however.

Saturday’s action produced a thrilling battle between Evans and Toyota/Michelin’s Ott Tänak and the pair traded top spot several times until the Estonian lost two minutes on SS11. That put the Welshman briefly back in front again before he was passed by a charging Neuville on Leg 2’s last stage.

Evans returned to the top of the leaderboard once on Sunday morning thanks to a stunning effort on SS13 but was delayed again on the rally’s ultimate test after breaking his Ford’s front-right wheel. He nonetheless ended up third.

Neuville went on to secure his 10th world class victory, relatively comfortably clear of Ogier who rarely looked comfortable on his home round of the WRC in his Citroën C3 WRC.

The top five was rounded out by Dani Sordo (Hyundai/Michelin) and Teemu Suninen (Ford/Michelin), while Toyota Gazoo Racing – despite winning six of the event’s 14 stages – had to settled for sixth, ninth and tenth places after a tough week on the Mediterranean island for Tänak, Kris Meeke and Jari-Matti Latvala.

The Tour de Corse featured a variety of stages, including some circuit-like portions in the south, and narrower, twister roads to the north. The longest test of the week was Castagniccia (47.18km) which packed a bit of everything, including some dirt even, but the hard-compound Michelin Pilot Sport H5 rose to the challenge impeccably to provide yet another illustration of its performance, strength and longevity.

Although Michelin drivers claimed 11 of the 13 stages contested by the WRC2 runners, victory in the class went to Italy’s Fabio Andolfi (Skoda), ahead of Nicolay Gryazin (+3.9s, Skoda/Michelin). Eric Camilli’s assertive drive (10 stage wins) ended when his VW Polo GTi R5/Michelin was consumed by flames on SS12.

The WRC will now cross the Atlantic once again for the next round in Argentina on April 26-28.

2019 Tour de Corse – Final classification:

1. Neuville/Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC/Michelin), 3h22m59.0s

2. Ogier/Ingrassia (Citroën C3 WRC/Michelin), +40.3s

3. Evans/Martin (Ford Fiesta RS WRC/Michelin), +1m6.6s

4. Sordo/Del Barrio (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC/Michelin), +1m18.4s

5. Suninen/Salminen (Ford Fiesta RS WRC/Michelin), +1m24.6s

6. Tänak/Järveoja (Toyota Yaris WRC/Michelin), +1m40.0s

7. Lappi/Ferm (Citroën C3 WRC/Michelin), +2m9.1s

8. Loeb/Elena (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC/Michelin), +3m39.2s

9. Meeke/Marshall (Toyota Yaris WRC/Michelin), +5m6.3s

10. Latvala/Anttila (Toyota Yaris WRC/Michelin), +6m44.6s


FIA Formula E

Vergne scores second straight Formula E crown!

DS Techeetah/Michelin’s Jean-Eric Vergne emerged from the 2019 New York City E-Prix as the first driver in Formula E history to claim the title twice. The Frenchman successfully defended his 2017/2018 crown after the weekend’s doubleheader meeting in New York City, USA, which produced wins for Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams/Michelin) and Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing/Michelin). DS Techeetah/Michelin is Season 5’s Teams’ champion.


MotoGP: Marquez in control at the Sachsenring

Since the start of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship, Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) has failed to go two consecutive races without winning. This weekend, true to form, the Spaniard bounced back from his Netherlands defeat to score an assertive victory at Germany’s Sachsenring where he was joined on the podium by Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol).


MotoGP™ - HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland - Racecard

All you need to know about the HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland, 9th round of the MotoGP championshipClic on the photo to download the racecard.


MotoGP™: Viñales and Yamaha hit top form at Assen

The Motul TT Assen –round eight of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship – was won by Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP’s Maverick Viñales, ahead of Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) and Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT). Every one of the six Michelin tyre specifications available for the race was used, with three different specs making it onto the podium to provide a further illustration of the French products’ performance and versatility.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018