Michelin named official MotoGP tyre supplier until 2023

Dorna Sports has confirmed that Michelin will continue to be the official supplier of tyres to the MotoGPTM World Championship for five additional seasons over and above the existing arrangement. The contract’s extension until 2023 was announced today at this weekend’s MICHELIN® Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix in the presence of Michelin Motorsport Director Pascal Couasnon and Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports. 


MotoGP: Dovizioso takes Malaysia win!

Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) collected his sixth success of the year with victory at the Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix, Round 17 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship. Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) came second to notch up Ducati’s first one-two finish of the season, while Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) was third. Fourth place for Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) means the fight for the 2017 crown will be decided in Valence. 


MotoGP: a second straight win for Viñales

The winner of the second round of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship at Termas de Rio Hondo, Argentina, was Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) who also won the season’s recent opener in Qatar. Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) were second and third in South America.


Viñales continued his successful start to 2017 with another victory that saw the Catalan become the first Yamaha rider to claim the year’s first two races since Wayne Rainey in 1990.

He got away smartly from sixth on the grid to quickly find himself on the tail of pole-winner Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team). Racing on medium-compound MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear, he emerged in front when the defending world champion fell on Lap 4.

From that point on, he lapped consistently in the 1m39s bracket to take the chequered flag with a three-second advantage over his team-mate Rossi who started his 350th grand prix from seventh on the grid. It was on the 19th of the 25-lap race that the nine-time world champion squeezed past Cal Crutchlow to secure second place and earn Yamaha’s first one-two finish of the year.

Alvaro Bautista (Pull&Bear Aspar Team) was fourth.

Monster Yamaha Tech3’s Johann Zarco and Jonas Folger followed in fifth and sixth places respectively to make it four Yamaha riders in the final top six.

Danilo Petrucci (Octo Pramac Racing), Scott Redding (Octo Pramac Racing), Jack Miller (EG 0,0 Marc VDS) and Karel Abraham (Pull&Bear Aspar Team) rounded out the top 10.

None of the four Honda or Ducati factory riders (Marquez and Pedrosa / Lorenzo and Dovizioso) reached the finish.

Next round: Grand Prix of the Americas (Austin, Texas, USA), April 21-23.



Sébastien Ogier and M-Sport WRT seal 2017 WRC crowns!

Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia and British outfit M-Sport wrapped up world class rallying’s 2017 titles* today after this weekend’s Wales Rally GB which was won by homegrown star Elfyn Evans. 


One-two glory for Toyota/Michelin in Fuji downpour

In a repeat scenario of 2013, this year’s 6 Hours of Fuji – round seven of the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship – was marked by torrential rain. The appalling weather didn’t prevent the N°8 and N°7 Michelin-equipped TS050 Hybrids from monopolising the top two positions, however, while the N°51 Ferrari/Michelin came up trumps in LM GTE Pro.


Meeke bounces back in Spain for Citroën/Michelin

Citroën Racing’s Kris Meeke stemmed a recent barren spell with an emphatic victory on the 2017 RallyRACC Catalunya-Rally de España in his Michelin-equipped Citroën C3 WRC. The Ulsterman was followed over the line by M-Sport team-mates Sébastien Ogier and Ott Tanak (Ford Fiesta WRC/Michelin) whose efforts took the British outfit a step closer to its first Manufacturers’ crown since 2007. 


Porsche and Michelin triumph in Texan heat

Porsche Team collected its third consecutive one-two finish in the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship when Bernhard/Bamber/Hartley took the win at Austin, Texas, USA, in the N°2 919 Hybrid, ahead of the similar car of Jani/Lotterer/Tandy. The N°51 Ferrari 488 GTE/Michelin of Calado/Per Guidi won the LM GTE class.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2016 Records

Sustainable development