MotoE: Ferrari claims inaugural Enel FIM MotoE™ World Cup

Fifth place at the last round of the 2019 Enel FIM MotoE™ World Cup sufficed for Matteo Ferrari (Trentino Gresini MotoE) to become the new competition’s first champion. The weekend’s two races were won by pole-winner Eric Granado (Avintia Esponsorama Racing). 


MotoGP™: Márquez wraps up 2019 with home success

The Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana was won by Spaniard Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team). Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha Petronas SRT) was second, while Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) made it three different bikemakers on the podium. All three riders chose the same tyre combination for the 19th and last round of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship.  


MotoGP™: Viñales and Yamaha hit top form at Assen

The Motul TT Assen –round eight of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship – was won by Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP’s Maverick Viñales, ahead of Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) and Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT). Every one of the six Michelin tyre specifications available for the race was used, with three different specs making it onto the podium to provide a further illustration of the French products’ performance and versatility.

Racing on medium and hard MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear, Viñales started from second on the grid but a timid getaway saw him drop fourth during the first of the afternoon’s 26 laps.

Following the fall of early pace-setter Alex Rins (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR), he recovered second spot on Lap 3, however, to split Marquez and Quartararo who is now the youngest ever rider to score consecutive MotoGPTM pole positions at the age of just 20 years and 70 days.

After dominating free practice, the French rookie effectively claimed his third pole in just eight races thanks to a new qualifying lap record for the Dutch circuit with a time of 1m32.017s. That’s six-tenths faster than the previous best posted by Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) in 2015.

Running on the same tyre-pairing as Viñales, Quartararo led the Motul TT Assen from Lap 3 until Lap 11. Márquez (medium and soft MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear) appeared ahead fleetingly but the French youngster managed to head the field again until Lap 16.

Viñales and Márquez then traded the lead several times over the next two laps before the Yamaha rider succeeded in defending his lead to the flag to claim the sixth victory of his career. It was also his and Yamaha’s first success since last year’s Australian Grand Prix.

Viñales is now the fifth rider to have won a race this year, along with Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team), Márquez, Rins and Danilo Petrucci (Ducati Team).

Márquez settled for the points that went with second place, while Quartararo – the day’s best-placed Independent Team rider – clinched his second straight podium finish.

Dovizioso came out on top in the battle for fourth place, chased over the line by Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT) and Petrucci.

The top 10 was rounded out by Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda), Joan Mir (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR), Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) and Andrea Iannone (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini).

tyre choice

The six different versions of the MICHELIN Power Slick available in the Netherlands were selected for the race which saw the track temperature soar to 44°C.

The result has extended the lead of Márquez (160 points) in the Riders’ standings to 47 and 52 points respectively over Dovizioso and Petrucci.

Next race: HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland, Sachsenring (July 5-7).


Twenty-nine champions for FIA endurance racing Hall of Fame

After creating Halls of Fame for its Formula 1 and Rally World Championships, the FIA (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) has now added an endurance racing section at its Paris headquarters. Twenty-nine champions were inducted at a special ceremony on Monday evening (December 2). It was organised in association with Michelin, a long-time major player in the discipline.

FIA Formula E

Formula E: Britons rule at 2019/2020 curtain raiser in Saudi Arabia

Sam Bird (Envision Virgin Racing/Michelin) and Alexander Sims (BMW I Andretti Motorsport) took the two wins at the opening meeting of the 2019/2020 Formula E Championship in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia. Michelin has been the official tyre supplier to the FIA’s all-electric racing series since its creation in 2014.


Citroën and Michelin: a winning combination in the WRC

Citroën has announced its intention to curtail its involvement in the FIA World Rally Championship. Together, the French car firm and Michelin have harvested five Manufacturers’ titles, four Drivers’ crowns, 58 world-class wins and 150 podium finishes.


Rally Australia cancellation hands WRC crown to Hyundai, with Michelin*

Raging fires in New South Wales have forced Rally Australia’s organisers to cancel the curtain-closing round of the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship. Their decision has handed this season’s Manufacturers’ title to Hyundai which has earned Michelin’s 56th WRC crown in the process. 

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018