Michelin named official MotoGP tyre supplier until 2023

Dorna Sports has confirmed that Michelin will continue to be the official supplier of tyres to the MotoGPTM World Championship for five additional seasons over and above the existing arrangement. The contract’s extension until 2023 was announced today at this weekend’s MICHELIN® Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix in the presence of Michelin Motorsport Director Pascal Couasnon and Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports. 


MotoGP: Dovizioso takes Malaysia win!

Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) collected his sixth success of the year with victory at the Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix, Round 17 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship. Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) came second to notch up Ducati’s first one-two finish of the season, while Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) was third. Fourth place for Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) means the fight for the 2017 crown will be decided in Valence. 


MotoGP: Marquez stays Sachsenring ‘Meister’

Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) posted his eighth straight victory at the Sachsenring, Germany, to claim the GoPro Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland. The Spaniard was joined on the podium of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship’s eighth round by Jonas Folger (Monster Yamaha Tech3) and Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team).


After qualifying on pole at the Sachsenring for the eighth time in a row (and the fifth time in as many years at MotoGP level), Marquez defended his advantage at lights-out with his Honda racing on medium-compound Michelin Power Slicks front and rear. He then led for the first four laps before relinquishing top spot to Folger.

Buoyed by 77,000 home fans, the German youngster – who had started from fifth on the grid – posted a new track lap record (1m21.402s) on the fourth of the race’s 30 laps as he eased into second spot, hard on Marquez’ heels. He took command next time round but dropped back again after a small error on Lap 10.

The Spaniard went on to justify his Sachsenring Meister crown by taking the flag 3.3 seconds clear of Folger who celebrated the best performance of his fledgling MotoGP career.

Pedrosa finished a solitary third, 11 seconds short of his team-mate.

After starting from 11th and 9th places respectively, Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) and Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) fought back to cross the line in fourth and fifth spots.

Alvaro Bautista (Pull&Bear Aspar Team), Aleix Expargaro (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini), Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team), Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech3) and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) rounded out the afternoon’s top 10.

Marquez (129 points) is back in front in the Riders’ standings, chased by Viñales (+5 points) and Andrea Dovizioso (+6). Rossi is fourth (+10) ahead of the summer break.

Next round: Brno, Czech Republic (August 4-6).


Toyota wins as Porsche/Michelin seals 2017 WEC crown

Victory for the N°8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid/Michelin at the 6 Hours of Shanghai in the hands of Buemi/Davidson/Nakajima did not prevent Porsche Team from securing a third straight FIA WEC title. The German squad’s Timo Bernard, Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber claimed the 2017 Drivers’ crown. 


Sébastien Ogier and M-Sport WRT seal 2017 WRC crowns!

Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia and British outfit M-Sport wrapped up world class rallying’s 2017 titles* today after this weekend’s Wales Rally GB which was won by homegrown star Elfyn Evans. 


One-two glory for Toyota/Michelin in Fuji downpour

In a repeat scenario of 2013, this year’s 6 Hours of Fuji – round seven of the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship – was marked by torrential rain. The appalling weather didn’t prevent the N°8 and N°7 Michelin-equipped TS050 Hybrids from monopolising the top two positions, however, while the N°51 Ferrari/Michelin came up trumps in LM GTE Pro.


Meeke bounces back in Spain for Citroën/Michelin

Citroën Racing’s Kris Meeke stemmed a recent barren spell with an emphatic victory on the 2017 RallyRACC Catalunya-Rally de España in his Michelin-equipped Citroën C3 WRC. The Ulsterman was followed over the line by M-Sport team-mates Sébastien Ogier and Ott Tanak (Ford Fiesta WRC/Michelin) whose efforts took the British outfit a step closer to its first Manufacturers’ crown since 2007. 

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2016 Records

Sustainable development