MotoGP: Lorenzo claims Red Bull Ring spoils for Ducati/Michelin

The Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich – Round 11 of the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship – saw Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team/Michelin) emerge on top after a tremendous scrap with Marc Marquez (2nd, Repsol Honda Team/Michelin) to collect his third victory of the season at Austria’s Red Bull Ring. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team/Michelin) was third.


MotoGP™ : eyetime Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich - Racecard

All you need to know about the eyetime Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich with our racecard.Click on the photo to download it.


MotoGP: Marc Márquez takes Le Mans spoils

The winner of Sunday’s HJC Helmets Grand Prix de France (Round 5 of the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship) at Le Mans-Bugatti was Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team). Danilo Petrucci (Alma Pramac Racing) and Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) were second and third.

After starting the 2018 French GP from second on the grid with his Honda sitting on medium and hard MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear, Márquez completed the first of the race’s 27 laps in fourth position. The world champion then took command on Lap 10 after easing past Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) who had leapt into the lead from sixth position at lights-out.

Márquez went on to post a series of quick laps that provided him with a handsome cushion of more than two seconds over Petrucci.

2018 05 GP France 00485

Despite qualifying a relatively lowly ninth, Rossi took part in the podium celebrations for the first time since Qatar. The nine-time champion gradually worked his way up the order to move into third place on Lap 13 before successfully defending that position to the flag.

Pole-sitter Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech3) – who established a new qualifying record for Le Mans with a 1m31.185s – was caught out on Lap 8 while running in second spot behind Lorenzo. The same misadventure had eliminated the latter’s team-mate Andrea Dovizioso three laps earlier.

Jack Miller (Alma Pramac Racing) and Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) figured in the afternoon’s top five, while Lorenzo and Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) ended up sixth and seventh, ahead of the astonishing Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda). Following a nasty fall during the second qualifying session, the Briton spent Saturday night under observation in hospital but was declared fit to race. The reward for his perseverance was eighth place.

Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) and Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) rounded out the top 10.

Marc Márquez’s third row win of the season has taken him further clear at the top of the provisional championship standings on 95 points, ahead of Viñales (59) and Zarco (58).

Tyre choice

Tyre choice

Prochaine épreuve : Grand Prix d’Italie, Mugello, du 1er au 3 juin 2018


Tänak triumphs in the land of the Flying Finns

The 2018 Rally Finland saw Estonia’s Ott Tänak steer his Toyota Yaris WRC/Michelin to a resounding victory ahead of Norwegian rival Mads Ostberg (Citroën/Michelin) and Finn Jari-Matti Latvala (Toyota/Michelin). The championship’s pacesetters Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) and Sébastien Ogier (Ford/Michelin) were fifth and ninth respectively.


Neste Rally Finland - Racecard

All you need to know about the Neste Rally Finland with our racecard.Clic on the photo to download it.

FIA Formula E

Vergne and Audi Sport secure 2017/2018 titles with Michelin

The New York City E-Prix saw Jean-Eric Vergne and Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler/Michelin claim the 2017/2018 FIA ABB Formula E Drivers’ and Teams’ titles. Season 5 will kick off in Riyad, Saudi Arabia, on December 15 when the championship’s new-generation all-electric single-seaters will race for the first time on equally new Michelin tyres.

FIA Formula E

ABB Formula E - New York ePrix - Racecard

All you need to kown about the New York ePrix with our racecard.Clic on the photo to download it.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2017 Records

Sustainable development