Michelin named official MotoGP tyre supplier until 2023

Dorna Sports has confirmed that Michelin will continue to be the official supplier of tyres to the MotoGPTM World Championship for five additional seasons over and above the existing arrangement. The contract’s extension until 2023 was announced today at this weekend’s MICHELIN® Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix in the presence of Michelin Motorsport Director Pascal Couasnon and Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports. 


MotoGP: Dovizioso takes Malaysia win!

Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) collected his sixth success of the year with victory at the Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix, Round 17 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship. Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) came second to notch up Ducati’s first one-two finish of the season, while Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) was third. Fourth place for Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) means the fight for the 2017 crown will be decided in Valence. 


MotoGP: Honda’s Aragon one-two

The Gran Premio Movistar de Aragón – Round 14 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship – was won by Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team), ahead of team-mate Dani Pedrosa and Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team).


Running on hard-compound MICHELIN Power Slicks front and rear, Marquez got away to a cautious start and completed the first of the day’s 23 laps in fourth place, behind Lorenzo, Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) and his chief title rival Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team).

On Lap 6, he eased past the latter to take third, then attempted to grab the lead three laps later. His optimistic move failed, however, and he fell back to fourth again.

With 12 laps to go, he moved up to second and eventually found a way past Lorenzo before going on to take the win by a margin of just eight-tenths over Pedrosa who produced a superb run during the race’s later stages.

After topping the order for the first 15 laps, Lorenzo had to settle for third when Pedrosa followed up posting the fastest race lap on Lap 19 (1m49.140s) by stealing second spot three laps from home.

Pole-winner Maverick Viñales was fourth after passing team-mate Rossi with three laps remaining. The still-convalescing Italian was fifth.

Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini), Dovizioso, Alvaro Bautista (Pull&Bear Aspar Team), Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) and Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) rounded out the top 10.

In the provisional standings, Marquez (224 points) has gone clear top ahead of the upcoming long-haul trips to Japan, Australia and Malaysia. Dovizioso (208) and Viñales (196) are second and third, while Pedrosa (170) has jumped to fourth, marginally clear of Rossi (168 points). With four rounds still to contest, the end of the season is shaping up to be an absolute cracker!

Next round: Japanese Grand Prix, Motegi (October 13-15, 2017).


Sébastien Ogier and M-Sport WRT seal 2017 WRC crowns!

Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia and British outfit M-Sport wrapped up world class rallying’s 2017 titles* today after this weekend’s Wales Rally GB which was won by homegrown star Elfyn Evans. 


One-two glory for Toyota/Michelin in Fuji downpour

In a repeat scenario of 2013, this year’s 6 Hours of Fuji – round seven of the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship – was marked by torrential rain. The appalling weather didn’t prevent the N°8 and N°7 Michelin-equipped TS050 Hybrids from monopolising the top two positions, however, while the N°51 Ferrari/Michelin came up trumps in LM GTE Pro.


Meeke bounces back in Spain for Citroën/Michelin

Citroën Racing’s Kris Meeke stemmed a recent barren spell with an emphatic victory on the 2017 RallyRACC Catalunya-Rally de España in his Michelin-equipped Citroën C3 WRC. The Ulsterman was followed over the line by M-Sport team-mates Sébastien Ogier and Ott Tanak (Ford Fiesta WRC/Michelin) whose efforts took the British outfit a step closer to its first Manufacturers’ crown since 2007. 


Porsche and Michelin triumph in Texan heat

Porsche Team collected its third consecutive one-two finish in the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship when Bernhard/Bamber/Hartley took the win at Austin, Texas, USA, in the N°2 919 Hybrid, ahead of the similar car of Jani/Lotterer/Tandy. The N°51 Ferrari 488 GTE/Michelin of Calado/Per Guidi won the LM GTE class.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2016 Records

Sustainable development