MotoGP: teams head east to Japan

MotoGPTM kicks off the Pacific-Asian leg of the 2017 world championship this weekend with the Motul Grand Prix of Japan (Round 14), the first of three back-to-back races along with Australia and Malaysia. Provisional leader Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team), Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) and Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) stand out as the big favourites for this year’s title. 


MotoGP: Honda’s Aragon one-two

The Gran Premio Movistar de Aragón – Round 14 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship – was won by Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team), ahead of team-mate Dani Pedrosa and Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team). 


MotoGP: Dovizioso reaps Silverstone honours

The Octo British Grand Prix – Round 12 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship – was won by Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) who is the new Riders’ standings leader. Second and third at Silverstone were Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) and Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP).


With his Ducati running on hard-compound Michelin Power Slicks front and rear, and despite qualifying a lowly sixth on the grid, Dovizioso formed part of the small group comprising Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team), Viñales and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) that set out to chase early leader Rossi who was taking part in his 300th grand prix at this level.

Running on the same rubber as Dovizioso, the Yamaha rider had leapt into first place from the second row of the grid and went on to pull out a cushion of around a second before being passed by his Ducati rival with three laps remaining. The same lap saw Viñales ease past his Italian team-mate to clinch second spot.

Rossi posted a new lap race record third time round, but his benchmark was then bettered by Viñales and Marquez (2m1.560s) on Laps 4 and 7 respectively.

The world champion failed to finish, however, due to an engine failure on Lap 14 while running third.

Crutchlow finished his home round just shy of the podium, while fifth place ended up in the hands of Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team).

The top 10 was rounded out by Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech3), Scott Redding (Octo Pramac Racing), Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) and Álvaro Bautista (Pull&Bear Aspar Team).

The combination of Dovizioso’s fourth victory of the year and Marquez’ retirement has produced a new leader at the top of the provisional leaderboard with six races to come. Dovizioso (183 points) has gone nine points clear of the defending champ, while Viñales (170) and Rossi (157) are third and fourth respectively.

Next round: San Marino Grand Prix, Misano, Italy (September 8-10).


Meeke bounces back in Spain for Citroën/Michelin

Citroën Racing’s Kris Meeke stemmed a recent barren spell with an emphatic victory on the 2017 RallyRACC Catalunya-Rally de España in his Michelin-equipped Citroën C3 WRC. The Ulsterman was followed over the line by M-Sport team-mates Sébastien Ogier and Ott Tanak (Ford Fiesta WRC/Michelin) whose efforts took the British outfit a step closer to its first Manufacturers’ crown since 2007. 


Porsche and Michelin triumph in Texan heat

Porsche Team collected its third consecutive one-two finish in the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship when Bernhard/Bamber/Hartley took the win at Austin, Texas, USA, in the N°2 919 Hybrid, ahead of the similar car of Jani/Lotterer/Tandy. The N°51 Ferrari 488 GTE/Michelin of Calado/Per Guidi won the LM GTE class.


New look for world class endurance racing

Created in 2012, the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) is to undergo significant changes from next season when the series will straddle two calendar years (2018/2019) and conclude with the 2019 Le Mans 24 Hours. The LMP1 cars will run to new technical regulations. As a participant in the FIA WEC since the outset, Michelin approves the latest moves.  


Porsche/Michelin enjoys Mexican fiesta

The 6 Hours of Mexico saw Porsche Team claim its second one-two finish in as many rounds of the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship, with the N°2 Porsche 919 Hybrid/Michelin (Bernhard/Bamber/Hartley) securing top spot ahead of the N°1 sister prototype (Jani/Lotterer/Tandy). The N°8 and N°7 Michelin-equipped Toyota TS050 Hybrids were third and fourth at Mexico City’s Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez.    

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2016 Records

Sustainable development