FIA Formula E

Di Grassi and Renault e.dams secure 2016/2017 Formula E titles

The last meeting of the 2016/2017 Formula E Championship saw Brazil’s Lucas di Grassi (Abt-Schaeffler Audi Sport) and Renault-e.dams/Michelin clinch the Drivers’ and Teams’ titles in Montreal, Canada.

FIA Formula E

New York glory for DS Virgin!

The weekend’s two Formula E races in New York City were won by DS Virgin Racing/Michelin’s Sam Bird, which means the 2016/2017 Drivers’ and Teams’ titles will now go down to the wire at the season’s finale in Montreal, Canada, in two weeks’ time.

FIA Formula E

Monaco ePrix: Buemi beats di Grassi in the Principality

Pole-winner Sébastien Buemi (Renault e.dams) led from lights-out to the flag in Monaco to claim his fourth ePrix win of the 2016/2017 season. Lucas di Grassi (Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport) and Nick Heidfeld (Mahindra Racing) were second and third.

It is well-known that overtaking is hard at Monaco, so Buemi was well inspired to secure his first Formula E pole position since last summer’s visit to London. The Renault e.dams driver took advantage of his starting order to lead the 2017 Monaco ePrix from start to finish.

It was the Swiss star’s fourth victory from his last five starts and reinforces his position at the top of the provisional Drivers’ standings, ahead of di Grassi, who finished just 0.320s short of Buemi today after 51 laps (90km).

Heidfeld, the only Formula E driver to have finished on the podium in Monaco in Formula 1, pitted for his car-swap during a safety car period to re-join in third spot before pocketing his second top-three finish of the season after Hong Kong.

Nelson Piquet Jr (NEXTEV NIO) ended up fourth after a tangle that eliminated Jean-Eric Vergne (TECHEETAH) on Lap 21. It was this incident that prompted the despatch of the safety car.

Maro Engel (Venturi Formula E Team) came out on top in his duel with Felix Rosenqvist (Mahindra Racing) to clinch fifth spot, while Sam Bird saved DS Virgin Racing’s weekend by twice posting the fastest race lap (53.822s) after an early incident.

His team-mate also had to make an unscheduled early stop for a wing change. The Monaco ePrix was something of a disaster for Faraday Future Dragon Racing’s Loïc Duval and Jérôme d’Ambrosio.

Next round: Paris, France (May 20).


Michelin named official MotoGP tyre supplier until 2023

Dorna Sports has confirmed that Michelin will continue to be the official supplier of tyres to the MotoGPTM World Championship for five additional seasons over and above the existing arrangement. The contract’s extension until 2023 was announced today at this weekend’s MICHELIN® Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix in the presence of Michelin Motorsport Director Pascal Couasnon and Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports. 


Sébastien Ogier and M-Sport WRT seal 2017 WRC crowns!

Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia and British outfit M-Sport wrapped up world class rallying’s 2017 titles* today after this weekend’s Wales Rally GB which was won by homegrown star Elfyn Evans. 


MotoGP: Dovizioso takes Malaysia win!

Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) collected his sixth success of the year with victory at the Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix, Round 17 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship. Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) came second to notch up Ducati’s first one-two finish of the season, while Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) was third. Fourth place for Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) means the fight for the 2017 crown will be decided in Valence. 


MotoGP: Marquez to wrap up title in Malaysia?

The 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship concludes its autumn long-haul tour with the Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix (Round 17 of 18). Marc Marquez travels to Sepang with a 33-point cushion at the top of the provisional standings and could well collect his fourth premier class crown this weekend. 

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2016 Records

Sustainable development