24H du Mans

Invited entries for Le Mans 2019

The ACO (Automobile Club de l’Ouest) has published a list of the 60 entries that have been invited to contest the 2019 Le Mans 24 Hours, final round of the 2018/2019 FIA World Endurance Championship (June 15-16). Michelin is targeting its 28th Le Mans victory.

24H du Mans

Toyota/Michelin tastes Le Mans glory at last!

Toyota will be partying hard tonight after winning the famous Le Mans 24 Hours for the first time since its debut attempt at the world famous race in 1985. This time around, Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and the team’s star recruit Fernando Alonso delivered the necessary speed and reliability in their N°8 TS050-Hybrid/Michelin to spearhead a one-two finish for the Japanese carmaker, ahead of the N°7 sister car (+2 laps). Porsche/Michelin celebrated no-nonsense wins in LM GTE Pro and Am, while G-Drive Racing was unassailable in LMP2 with the N°26 Oreca07. True to its ‘Winning performance to the line’ claim, Michelin secured its 21st straight Le Mans success.

24H du Mans

Le Mans 24 Hours: A full house for Michelin at the 2018 Le Mans Test Day

Michelin topped the timesheets in all four classes at the end of the official 2018 pre-Le Mans Test Day. In LM P1, rookie Fernando Alonso caused a stir by posting the fastest lap in the N°8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid/Michelin, while Porsche and Michelin dominated both the LM GTE Pro and LM GTE Am orders. The N°31 Oreca-Gibson/Michelin prototype was fastest in LM P2. Action will resume next week with Free Practice and the first qualifying session on Wednesday, June 13.


True to recent tradition, the 2018 Le Mans 24 Hours fortnight kicked off on Sunday with the pre-race Test Day. It gave the 60 teams an invaluable first chance to lap the famous 13.626-kilometre circuit, more than 80 percent of which is open to ordinary traffic the rest of the year.

The day is always a valuable exercise for the engineers, drivers and tyre manufacturers as they begin set-up work, (re)discover the track and start thinking about their respective strategies and stints planning for the big race.

Sunday’s run (two four-hour sessions) took place in clear weather and the fastest lap was the work of F1 star Fernando Alonso in the N°8 Toyota TS050 Hybrid/Michelin (3m19.066s), ahead of the non-hybrid N°3 Rebellion/Michelin prototype (Mathias Beche, +0.614s). The N°7 Toyota concluded the day less than a second short of its sister car, but the performance gap between the hybrid and nonhybrid prototypes was relatively small


Porsche and Michelin dominated both LM GTE classes. The Pro classification was topped by the N°93 and N°91 Porsche 911 RSRs, chased by the four Michelin-equipped Ford GTs. The best lap was posted by Patrick Pilet whose effort of 3m52.551s was two seconds quicker than the 2017 Test Day. The fastest Am runner was the N°77 Porsche/Michelin (Dempsey-Proton Racing), less than a second clear of two Michelin-shod Ferrari 488 GTEs.


Michelin has returned to the LM P2 class in the 2018/2019 FIA WEC and the Test Day saw two of its partners claim the two fastest laps, namely Dragonspeed (N°31 Oreca07-Gibson) and IDEC Sport (N°48 Oreca07-Gibson). Nathanael Berthon posted the best time (3m27.228s), ahead of fellow Frenchman Paul-Loup Chatin (3m27.252s). Both these laps bettered last year’s Test Day benchmarks.


The 2018 Le Mans 24 Hours will get under way at 3pm local time on Saturday, June 16.


Tänak earns Michelin’s 333rd WRC victory

The first Rally Chile to count towards the FIA World Rally Championship was won by Estonia’s Ott Tänak (Toyota Yaris WRC/Michelin) who notched up Michelin’s 333rd WRC success in the process. French world champions Sébastien Ogier (Citroën/Michelin) and Sébastien Loeb (Hyundai/Michelin) were second and third, while WRC2 victor was the young Finnish Michelin runner Kalle Rovanperä (Skoda). 

FIA Formula E

Monaco glory for Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin)

Pole-sitter Jean-Eric Vergne collected his second win of the 2018/2019 FIA Formula E Championship in Monaco to go top of the provisional Drivers’ standings. Oliver Rowland (2nd, Nissan e.dams/Michelin), Felipe Massa (3rd, Venturi Formula E Team/Michelin) and Pascal Wehrlein (4th, Mahindra Racing/Michelin) made it four different teams in the day’s top-four, blanketed by just 1.439 seconds! 


FIA WRC - COPEC Rally Chile - Racecard

All you ever wanted to know about the Rally Chile, 6th round of the World Rally Championship (WRC).Click on the photo to download the racecard.

FIA Formula E

ABB FIA Formula E - E-Prix Monaco

All you need to know about the Monaco E-Prix, round 6 of the 2018/2019 ABB FIA Formula E season.Click on the photo to download our racecard.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018