Portugal glory for Toyota/Michelin

Twenty-five years after their last win together on the event as a WRC round*, Toyota and Michelin claimed the top prize at this year’s Rally de Portugal thanks to Ott Tänak. Second and third were Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) and Sébastien Ogier (Citroën/Michelin). With half of the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship completed, Ogier tops the Provisional Drivers’ standings, two and ten points clear of his Estonian and Belgian rivals respectively. The new Skoda Fabia R5 Evo/Michelin got its career of to a flying start with a one-two finish in WRC2 Pro thanks to Kalle Rovanperä and Jan Kopecky.


FIA WRC - Vodafone Rally de Portugal - Racecard

All you need to know abou the Vodafone Rally de Portugal, 7th round of World Rally Championship (WRC).Click on the photo to download the racecard.


Hyundai/Michelin’s Sordo wins the day in Sardinia

Dani Sordo’s 163rd world class start saw the 36-year old Spaniard claim the second WRC win of his career at the 2019 Rally Italia Sardegna, one of the championship’s most punishing tests of tyres. Ott Tänak led until a power-steering problem delayed him on the week’s final stage, which allowed Teemu Suninen (Ford/Michelin) and Andreas Mikkelsen (Hyundai/Michelin) to clinch second and third places. Kalle Rovanperä (Skoda/Michelin) topped the WRC2 Pro order once again.

Round 8 of the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship produced plenty of drama and surprises ahead of the summer recess.

Friday morning’s SS5, for example, saw the provisional championship leader Sébastien Ogier (Citroën/Michelin) clout a rock and break his suspension and he suffered the same fate the following day. Despite these setbacks, the six-time champion battled on to salvage four points on the Power Stage.

Meanwhile, the rally’s final test brought Tänak’s fine performance to a cruel conclusion when he suffered power-steering gremlins. Up to that point, the Estonian had overcome the handicap of running amongst the first drivers on the road on Day 1 to stay on Sordo’s heels at the sharp end, before emerging in front on Saturday afternoon.

Going into the 14.06km Power Stage, his lead stood at 26.7 seconds and he appeared to be cruising to his fourth win of the season when the steering of his Toyota Yaris WRC/Michelin decided otherwise…

Tänak completed the rally in fifth place, behind Elfyn Evans (Ford/Michelin) who was passed by Mikkelsen on the last stage.

Suninen turned out to be one of the stars of the week, helped by a favourable running order on Friday when he appeared in front thanks to a tally of three fastest times. He ended up second overall which is his best-ever result at WRC level to date.

The surprise winner of the 2019 Rally Italia Sardegna was Sordo who inherited his first victory since the 2013 Rallye Deutschland, and the first of his career on dirt.

WRC action will resume in Finland at the end of July after a short summer break with Tänak on top of the Drivers’ standings, four points clear of Ogier and seven points ahead of Thierry Neuville who had to settle for sixth spot in Italy.

Kalle Rovanperä and Jan Kopecky came first and second in the recently-homologated Michelin Latitude Cross-equipped Skoda Fabia R5 Evo which successfully survived its first taste of the Sardinian punishment.

2019 Rally Italia Sardegna – Final positions:

1. Sordo/Del Barrio (Hyundai i20 WRC), 3h22m27.2s

2. Suninen/Lethinen (Ford Fiesta RS WRC), +13.7s

3. Mikkelsen/Jaeger (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC), +32.6s

4. Evans/Martin (Ford Fiesta RS WRC), +33.5s

5. Tänak/Järveoja (Toyota Yaris WRC), +1m30.1s

6. Neuville/Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC), +2m16.7s

7. Lappi/Ferm (Citroën C3 WRC), +2m56.9s

8. Meeke/Marshall (Toyota Yaris WRC), +4m40.1s

9. Rovanperä/Halttunen (Skoda Fabia R5 Evo), +8m24.6s (1st, WRC2 Pro)

10. Kopecky/Dresler (Skoda Fabia R5 Evo), +8m49.2s


FIA Formula E

Vergne scores second straight Formula E crown!

DS Techeetah/Michelin’s Jean-Eric Vergne emerged from the 2019 New York City E-Prix as the first driver in Formula E history to claim the title twice. The Frenchman successfully defended his 2017/2018 crown after the weekend’s doubleheader meeting in New York City, USA, which produced wins for Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams/Michelin) and Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing/Michelin). DS Techeetah/Michelin is Season 5’s Teams’ champion.


MotoGP: Marquez in control at the Sachsenring

Since the start of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship, Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) has failed to go two consecutive races without winning. This weekend, true to form, the Spaniard bounced back from his Netherlands defeat to score an assertive victory at Germany’s Sachsenring where he was joined on the podium by Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol).


MotoGP™ - HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland - Racecard

All you need to know about the HJC Helmets Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland, 9th round of the MotoGP championshipClic on the photo to download the racecard.


MotoGP™: Viñales and Yamaha hit top form at Assen

The Motul TT Assen –round eight of the 2019 MotoGPTM World Championship – was won by Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP’s Maverick Viñales, ahead of Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team) and Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT). Every one of the six Michelin tyre specifications available for the race was used, with three different specs making it onto the podium to provide a further illustration of the French products’ performance and versatility.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018