FIA Formula E

BMW/Michelin claims maiden Formula E success

Round 1 of the 2018/2019 Formula E Championship in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia, was won by Antonio Felix da Costa. The Portuguese BMW i Andretti Motorsport driver was joined on the podium by Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin) and Jérôme d’Ambrosio (Mahindra Racing/Michelin).

FIA Formula E

ABB Formula E - Ad Diriyah ePrix - Racecard

All you need to kown about the Ad Diriyah ePrix with our racecard.Clic on the photo to download it. 

FIA Formula E

Formula E: Techeetah’s Chilean double tops

Jean-Eric Vergne and André Lotterer led a landmark one-two finish for Techeetah/Michelin in the streets of Santiago, Chile, on Saturday. Sébastien Buemi (Renault-e.dams) was third, while the defending Formula E champion Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler) failed to get his 2017/2018 points tally off the ground.

The first E-Prix to be held in Santiago provided some entertaining action around the tight, bumpy, purpose-designed street circuit. A tangle at the start eliminated José-Maria Lopez (DS Virgin Racing) and delayed Nick Heidfeld (Mahindra Racing). After the ensuing safety car period, pole winner Jean-Eric Vergne (Techeetah) headed the field and remained in front until the mid-race car changes when, for the first time in ABB FIA Formula E Championship history, no minimum time was set for the swap. In the resulting rush to re-join, Sam Bird (DS Virgin Racing) and Buemi (Renault-e.dams) both dropped time.

Vergne shrugged off pressure from Lotterer (the two men actually collided shortly before the finish) to claim his second Formula E victory, while his German team-mate was next over the line to earn a one-two finish for the Chinese team.

An interesting battle opposed Sébastien Buemi (3rd, Renault-e.dams), Felix Rosenqvist (4th, Mahindra Racing), Sam Bird (5th, DS Virgin Racing) and Nelson Piquet Jr (6th, Panasonic Jaguar Racing) for the third step of the podium. The latter, however, fell back two places while trying to wrestle back third from Buemi on Lap 28.

The result sees Vergne move to the top of the provisional Drivers’ standings, ahead of Felix Rosenqvist and Sam Bird who are covered by 10 points. Techeetah now also leads the Teams’ standings, two points clear of Mahindra Racing

The visit to Chile ended in tears for Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler since neither Daniel Abt nor Lucas di Grassi reached the finish. The Brazilian pushed hard in a bid to overcome a grid position penalty but was forced to park up his electric single-seater. He has yet to score a point this season with a third of the 2017/2018 championship already completed.

The next round takes teams to Mexico City on March 3.

FIA World Council decisions

A number of key decisions were taken at the FIA World Council meeting that was held in Saint Petersburg, Russia, on December 5. Many of them referred to some of the global championships in which Michelin is active, namely the WEC, WRC and Formula E.


MotoGP™: Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team/Michelin) triumphs in Valencia

After claiming the season’s opener in Qatar, Andrea Dovizioso concluded the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship with victory in Valencia. The Italian was unfazed when the race was red flagged due to heavy rain and he went on to finish clear of Alex Rins (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR/Michelin) and Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing/Michelin).   


Toyota and Michelin win in rainy Shanghai

The N°7 Toyota TS050 Hybrid/Michelin of Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez and the N°8 sister car of Buemi/Alonso/Nakajima collected another one-two finish for the Japanese make in the FIA WEC as torrential rain greeted teams to Shanghai, China. Michelin scored its 50th LM GTE Pro class victory in the championship with the N°95 Aston Martin (Sorensen/Thiim).


Sixth WRC title for Ogier and Toyota’s fourth, all with Michelin

The 2018 Rally Australia saw Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia claim their sixth Drivers’ world title and their second with Ford/Michelin. Jari-Matti Latvala earned Toyota Gazoo Racing’s 50th world class victory to make sure of the Manufacturers’ crown with Michelin.  

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup


Palmarès 2018