FIA Formula E

Da Costa (DS Techeetah/Michelin) takes Marrakech laurels

Antonio Felix Da Costa steered his Michelin Pilot Sport-equipped DS E-Tense FE20 to victory in Marrakesh, home of Round 5 of the 2019/2020 ABB FIA Formula E Championship. Morocco, Africa’s number one nation in terms of renewable energy, has hosted Formula E action every year since 2016.

FIA Formula E

ABB FIA Formula E - 2020 Marrakesh E-Prix - Racecard

ABB FIA Formula E championship returns to Marrakesh for the 4th time. Clic on the photo to download our racecard and find out more about our sustainable mobility lab.

FIA Formula E

Formula E: Santiago glory for Max Günther

The 2020 Santiago E-Prix in Chile saw Maximilian Gunther score his maiden Formula E victory at the wheel of his Michelin Pilot Sport-equipped BMW iFE.20.

Round 3 of the 2019/2020 ABB FIA Formula E Championship was always going to be one of the season’s most challenging for Michelin Motorsport because of the extremely hot southern-hemisphere weather and the Chilean street circuit’s aggressive surface.

The Michelin Pilot Sport took the punishing conditions in its stride, however, to provide yet another illustration of its performance and durability and pave the way for what turned out to be a highly entertaining race that concluded with a photo finish.

After being deprived of pole position at December’s e-prix in Saudi Arabia due to an infraction, Günther (BMW I Andretti Motorsport/Michelin) bounced back to become the championship’s youngest ever winner at the age of 22.

The German emerged in front at the race’s midpoint thanks to a decisive move on pole-sitter Mitch Evans (Panasonic Jaguar Racing/Michelin) while his Attack Mode was activated.

Meanwhile, Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah/Michelin) got the better of Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin), Nyck de Vries (Mercedes-Benz EQ/Michelin) and Pascal Wehrlein (Mahindra Racing/Michelin) to go third. He then went on to pass Evans to appear in second spot.

Günther and Da Costa then produced a superb scrap all the way to the finish, with the German taking the lead for good on the final lap.

Sixth-placed Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-Benz EQ/Michelin) has gone to the top of the provisional championship standings, ahead of Alexander Sims (BMW I Andretti Motorsport/Michelin) who was one of the six drivers who failed to finish in Santiago. The day’s fastest race lap was the work of Oliver Rowland (Nissan e.dams/Michelin).

Next round: Mexico City E-Prix (February 15)

Santiago E-Prix – final positions:

1. Max Günther (BMW I Andretti Motorsports), 40 laps

2. Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah), +2.067s

3. Mitch Evans (Panasonic Jaguar Racing), +5.119s

4. Pascal Wehrlein (Mahindra Racing), +7.050s

5. Nyck de Vries (Mercedes-Benz EQ), +9.883s

6. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-Benz EQ), +11.237s

7. Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler), +14.437s

8. James Calado (Panasonic Jaguar Racing), +18.255s

9. Felipe Massa (Rokit Venturi Racing), +20.430s

10. Sam Bird (Envision Virgin Racing), +21.780s



Michelin on the virtual racing front

The coronavirus pandemic has obviously brought real motorsport to a halt, but many of Michelin’s driver partners have been keeping their eye in thanks to virtual races like Sebring SuperSaturday, e-Sport MotoGP and Porsche Supercup Virtual Edition.

24H du Mans

Le Mans 2020 put back 98 days

Initially scheduled for the weekend of June 13-14, this year’s Le Mans 24 Hours has been postponed until mid-September due to the coronavirus outbreak. The 1968 race was also held in September and saw Michelin provide new radial tyres for its partner Alpine.


Rally Mexico Win #6 for Ogier

Sébastien Ogier steered his Michelin LTX Force-equipped Toyota Yaris WRC to victory this weekend to earn his sixth success in Mexico. However, Round 3 of the 2020 FIA World Rally Championship was brought to an early close due to the coronavirus outbreak.


FIA WRC - 2020 Rally Guanajuato Mexico - Racecard

The Rally Mexico is the season’s opening gravel round and a big challenge for the Michelin tyres! Get our racecard to find out more about the 3rd round of the 2020

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup