Sweden revenge for ice-cool Neuville

After cruelly missing out on last year’s Rally Sweden win, Thierry Neuville (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC/Michelin) bounced back this week to win the 66th running of the winter classic, ahead of Craig Breen (Citroën C3 WRC/Michelin) and team-mate Andreas Mikkelsen. World champion Sébastien Ogier (Ford Fiesta RS WRC/Michelin) was penalised by his running order and could manage no better than 10th at the flag.


Sixth Monte Carlo win for Ogier

Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia (Ford/Michelin) led the 2018 Rallye Monte-Carlo from start to finish to collect their fifth straight win in the Principality since 2013. Toyota/Michelin drivers Ott Tanak and Jari-Matti Latvala joined the French pair on the podium.


Finland’s Esapekka Lappi strikes first WRC gold!

The 2017 Rally Finland was won by homegrown rising star Esapekka Lappi (Toyota/Michelin). He finished clear of Briton Elfyn Evans (Ford) and compatriot Juho Hänninen to claim his first world class success. Toyota took its 45th WRC victory.

Unsettled for several years by non-Nordic rivals, Flying Finns were the dominant force on their home round of the 2017 WRC. Halfway into Leg 1 of the 65th ‘Jyväskylä Grand Prix’, four local drivers effectively monopolised the top four places for the first time since 2004!

That said, their bid was aided by the early misadventures of Sébastien Ogier (Ford/Michelin), Hayden Paddon (Hyundai/Michelin) and Ott Tanak (Ford/Michelin).

A series of four straight stage wins saw Jari-Matti Latvala ease ahead of fellow Toyota/Michelin driver Lappi on Saturday morning but he was then betrayed by mechanical woes on the infamous Ouninpohja test (SS19). The event’s three-time victor nonetheless collected the weekend’s highest number of fastest times.

After recovering first place, Lappi, 26, controlled from in front to score his first ever WRC win on the same event where he made his championship debut in 2011. He completed the distance at an average speed of 127kph to make the 2017 Rally Finland the fastest round in WRC history. Lappi is the 15th Finn to win a WRC event despite driving a World Rally Car for only the fourth time.

A furious battle developed in his wake for the other podium steps between compatriots Hänninen (3rd, Toyota/Michelin) and Teemu Suninen (4th, Ford/Michelin), and Evans (2nd, Ford).

Suninen, who was contesting his second outing in a World Rally Car, cracked under pressure on the penultimate stage, leaving his fellow challengers split by less than a second at the start of the Power Stage. The Welshman went on to clinch silver, three-tenths clear of Hänninen who made it two Toyotas in the top three.

The Yaris WRC/Michelin, which was designed and developed close to Jyväskylä, was fastest on 18 of the 25 stages, while the Japanese make notched up its 20th WRC success on Michelin rubber.

Ireland’s Craig Breen (Citroën/Michelin) was fifth, ahead of Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin), the new Drivers’ standings leader, level on points with Ogier. The WRC2 contest was won by Jari Huttunen (Skoda/Michelin), the young protégé of ex-world champion Marcus Grönholm.


Michelin named official MotoGP tyre supplier until 2023

Dorna Sports has confirmed that Michelin will continue to be the official supplier of tyres to the MotoGPTM World Championship for five additional seasons over and above the existing arrangement. The contract’s extension until 2023 was announced today at this weekend’s MICHELIN® Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix in the presence of Michelin Motorsport Director Pascal Couasnon and Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports. 

FIA Formula E

ABB FIA Formula E: Michelin reveals the new MICHELIN Pilot Sport

The 2018 Geneva Motor Show has seen Michelin reveal the new MICHELIN Pilot Sport that will equip the latest-generation FIA ABB Formula E Championship all-electric cars when Season 5 (2018/2019) gets going at the end of the year. 

FIA Formula E

Daniel Abt claims maiden Formula E success

Daniel Abt (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler/Michelin) notched up the first Formula E victory of his career at Saturday’s Mexico City E-Prix. The German was joined on the podium by Oliver Turvey (2nd, NextEv NIO Sport/Michelin) and Sébastien Buemi (3rd, Renault e.dams/Michelin). 


MotoGP: Michelin® to partner the 2018 Australian Grand Prix

For the third year running, Michelin will be the title sponsor of the Australian Grand Prix, Round 17 of the 2018 MotoGPTM World Championship. The Michelin Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix at Phillip Island (October 26-28) promises to be one of the most spectacular races of the season.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2017 Records

Sustainable development