FIA Formula E

ABB FIA Formula E - 2020 CBMM Niobium Mexico E-Prix - Racecard

We are back in Mexico for the 4th round of the 2019/2020 ABB FIA Formula E championship. Get our racecard to know everyting about the #MexicoCityEprix and find out more about our commitment in Formula E.

FIA Formula E

Formula E: Santiago glory for Max Günther

The 2020 Santiago E-Prix in Chile saw Maximilian Gunther score his maiden Formula E victory at the wheel of his Michelin Pilot Sport-equipped BMW iFE.20.

FIA Formula E

Evans (Jaguar/Michelin) triumphs in Mexico

The 2020 Mexico City E-Prix saw Mitch Evans steer his Michelin Pilot Sport-equipped Jaguar I-Type IV to an assertive victory. The New Zealander was joined on the podium by Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah/Michelin) and Sébastien Buemi (Nissan/Michelin).

Mexico City’s famous Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, which sits at an altitude of 2,250 metres above sea level, provided yet another exciting, drama-filled Formula E race.

To begin with, it saw the Porsche 99X Electric claim its first pole position in the all-electric championship thanks to André Lotterer who topped the Super Pole order to add to the German make’s list of achievements in the Mexican capital with Michelin.

Three years ago, the two firms won qualifying at the same circuit in the FIA World Endurance Championship, with the Porsche 919 Hybrid on Michelin Pilot Sport Endurance tyres.

On Saturday, however, Lotterer failed to capitalise on his advantage and it was Evans who appeared in front out of Turn 1. The Jaguar/Michelin driver went on to lead all the way to the flag and secure his second Formula E victory, more than four seconds clear of second-placed da Costa.

Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams/Michelin) ended up third to pocket his first points of the 2019/2020 campaign, while two-time champion Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin) fought back strongly to finish fourth after starting 18th on the grid. Alexander Sims (BMW I Andretti Motorsport/Michelin) combined fifth place with the afternoon’s fastest race lap.

The fourth clash of the 2019/2020 championship was marked by a spate of incidents and 10 drivers failed to reach the finish, including the championship’s provisional leader Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-Benz EQ/Michelin), his team-mate Nyck de Vries and Envision Virgin Racing/Michelin’s Sam Bird and Robin Frijns.

Mexico City is the only e-prix to be held at a permanent race track which is also one of the longest (2.606km) to be visited by Formula E. Average speeds have increased there every year since 2016 when the fastest race lap was completed at an average speed of 116kph. The same figure this time around was 133kph. But although this year’s circuit was longer and faster, the drivers were as impressed by the grip and longevity delivered by the Michelin Pilot Sport as ever.

“Mexico City is the only place where we race at a conventional, permanent circuit,” notes Jérôme Mondain, the manager of Michelin’s Formula E programme. “Every year it throws up fresh challenges. This season, the layout was different due to the removal of two chicanes – which led to an extremely long parabolica-like final turn – and the addition of a brand new section. Not only did these changes extend the circuit’s length by 600 metres to 2.6 kilometres, but they also made it faster. Given the abrasiveness of the surface, we were keen therefore to see what effect all this would have on wear rates. But the MICHELIN Pilot Sport has regularly impressed the teams ever since its introduction as Formula E’s official tyre and the Mexico City E-Prix provided yet another timely illustration of its versatility.”

Next round: Marrakech E-Prix, Morocco (February 29).

2020 Mexico City E-Prix – Final Positions:

1. Mitch Evans (Panasonic Jaguar Racing), 36 laps

2. Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah), +4.271s

3. Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams), +6.181s

4. Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah), +14.331s

5. Alexander Sims (BMW I Andretti Motorsport), +19.244s

6. Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler), +28.346s

7. Oliver Rowland (Nissan e.dams), +29.750s

8. Edoardo Mortara (Rokit Venturi Racing), +30.204s

9. Pascal Wehrlein (Mahindra Racing), +31.132s

10. Jérôme d’Ambrosio (Mahindra Racing), +32.818s



FIA WRC - Rally Sweden - Racecard

Second round of the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC), the Rally Sweden could be a complex event in terms of conditions. Download our racecard to find out more about our tyre allocation.


Neuville claims maiden Monte success with Hyundai/Michelin

The outstanding grip provided by Michelin’s Pilot Sport range in the challenging conditions thrown up by the 2020 Rallye Monte-Carlo helped Thierry Neuville, Nicolas Gilsoul and Hyundai Motorsport collect their first ever victory on the winter classic, while Michelin’s Customer Competition tyres contributed to WRC2 and WRC3 glory for Citroën’s Mads Ostberg and Eric Camilli respectively. 


FIA WRC - Rallye Monte-Carlo - Racecard

The 2020 FIA World Rally Championship gets underway with one of the most iconic and demanding events for the tyres, Rallye Monte-Carlo. Click on the photo to download our racecard!

Michelin’s decade of innovation and success in motorsport

In the course of the past 10 years, Michelin’s increasingly sophisticated, energy-efficient, consistent and, now, connected tyres collected more than 300 world-class victories in disciplines as varied as MotoGP, endurance racing, rallying and Formula E. 

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup