FIA Formula E

Porsche takes Mexico win with Michelin

Michelin and its longstanding partner Porsche claimed an assertive one-two finish in the 2022 Mexico City E-Prix as Pascal Wehrlein scored his maiden ABB FIA Formula E World Championship success ahead of team-mate André Lotterer.

FIA Formula E

Michelin joins Formula E action in Spain

The official pre-season test ahead of the 2021/2022 FIA ABB Formula E World Championship took place on November 29-December 2 at Circuito Ricardo Tormo de Valence, Valencia, Spain, where Michelin once again joined the teams as the competition’s exclusive tire supplier. Season 8 will kick off in Saudi Arabia on January 28-29.

FIA Formula E

Diriyah E-Prix: Mercedes and Michelin light up the Saudi sky

The MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV rose to the various challenges it faced in Diriyah, near Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, to help defending champ Nyck de Vries (Mercedes-EQ FE Team) and last season’s runner-up Edoardo Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing) to claim the first two rounds of the 2021/2022 FIA ABB Formula E World Championship.

This year’s more powerful cars, the city’s initially sandy, resurfaced track, contrasting temperatures and the more stringent tire allocations introduced for 2022 put the Michelin Pilot Sport EV to a tough test as Formula E’s Season 8 kicked off with two night-time races.

“Our partners were once again happy with the versatility and consistency of our Formula E tire,” reports Mirko Pirracchio, the new manager of Michelin Motorsport’s Formula E program. “All the drivers had an allowance of three sets of new tires to cover the weekend’s familiarization laps, three free practice sessions, two qualifying sessions and both races. We consequently saw some interesting strategies and everyone was able to push to the limit in complete confidence thanks to the Michelin Pilot Sport EV’s famed longevity.”

The first pole position of the campaign was pocketed by Vandoorne (Mercedes-EQ FE Team) who topped the order after Friday’s exciting new qualifying format, while the opening e-prix produced a one-two finish for the Mercedes-Benz EQ Silver Arrow 02/Michelin in the hands of de Vries and Vandoorne.


The second Diriyah E-Prix was won by RoKit Venturi Racing’s Edoardo Mortrara whose team-mate Lucas di Grassi (3rd) almost made it a lock-out for Mercedes in Saudi Aribia. However, Saturday’s second place was secured by Robin Frijns (Envision Racing). The weekend was marked by a number of accidents, tangles and safety car periods which suggest another thrilling championship in store for fans of the all-electric series over the months to come.

2022 Diriyah E-Prix – Final Positions:

Race 1:

  1. Nyck de Vries (Mercedes-EQ FE Team), 41 laps
  2. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-EQ FE Team), +0.636s
  3. Jake Dennis (Avalanche Andretti Formula E), +8.802s


Race 2:

  1. Edoardo Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing), 35 laps
  2. Robin Frijns (Envision Racing), +0.451s
  3. Lucas di Grassi (RoKit Venturi Racing), +0.912s



MotoGP™: emotional maiden MotoGPTM success for Bastianini in Qatar

Gresini Racing MotoGP’s Enea Bastianini converted his trust in his MICHELIN Power Slicks into a resounding victory at Round 1 of the 2022 MotoGPTM World Championship in Qatar. The Italian dedicated his first win at this level to his team’s late founder Fausto Gresini. Brad Brinder (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) and Pol Espargaro (Repsol Honda Team) made it three different bikemakers on the podium to provide early evidence of the versatility of Michelin’s 2022 range.  

Michelin’s Asian and American travels

Shortly after the opening round of North America’s 2022 endurance racing campaign at Daytona in January, this year’s four-race Asian Le Mans Series took place in the United Arab Emirates. Michelin, a premium partner of the championship, helped Nielsen Racing, CD Sport and Inception Racing to harvest the season’s titles.

Sam Sunderland claims Michelin’s 37th Dakar bike win

The two-wheel category of the 2022 Dakar was won by Sam Sunderland (GasGas Factory Racing) who came out on top after an exceptionally close fight to repeat his victory of 2017. The Briton handed GasGas its maiden success on the event and took Michelin’s score to 37 bike victories.  

Michelin runners monopolize the 2021 ERC podium

The 2021 FIA European Rally Championship (ERC) saw Skoda/Michelin drivers Andreas Mikkelsen, Efren Llanera and Mikolaj Marczyck secure the year’s gold, silver and bronze medals. The series concluded in Spain’s Canary Islands following a fiercely-fought campaign between the different carmakers, drivers and tire firms involved.

More about Michelin Motorsport

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup