FIA Formula E

Brits rule in London on Michelin rubber

The 2021 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship’s London races were won by Britons Jake Dennis (BMW I Andretti Motorsport) and Alex Lynn (Mahindra Racing). The last appearance of the all-electric competition’s MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV-equipped cars this season will be the finale in Berlin, Germany, on August 14-15.

FIA Formula E

The MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV takes bite out of the Big Apple

The traction performance delivered by the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV Formula E tire helped Germany’s Maximilian Günther (BMW I Andretti Motorsport) and Sam Bird (Jaguar Racing) to claim the weekend’s two New York E-Prix at Brooklyn’s riverside circuit.

FIA Formula E

De Vries and Mercedes clinch Formula E’s 2021 world crowns with Michelin

As one of Formula E’s founding partners, Michelin is proud to have been associated with Nyck de Vries and Mercedes-EQ FE Team, winners of the all-electric competition’s first world crowns. Along with the titles it has harvested in Formula 1, rallying and endurance racing, Michelin can claim to have secured titles in every one of the FIA’s motorsport world championships. The winners of the weekend’s two Berlin races were Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler) and Norman Nato (RoKit Venturi Racing).

First organized in 2014, Formula E was promoted to FIA world championship status this season, which means de Vries and Mercedes-EQ FE Team are the sport’s first world champions, aided by the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV, the versatile (dry and wet conditions), efficient and connected 18-inch tire designed specifically for the series. Its derivative – the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV road tire – is today a feature of the highest-performing hybrid and electric road cars.

The season that concluded today in Germany threw an exceptional variety of conditions at Michelin’s Formula E tire, from the sand-coated streets of Diriyah, Saudi Arabia, and rain in Rome, Italy, to a long version of Monaco’s celebrated street circuit, banked turns in Puebla, Mexico, and Berlin Tempelhof’s highly abrasive concrete. The MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV took all of these challenges and many others in its stride, however, to confirm its performance and longevity and contribute to a particularly thrilling 15-race ‘Season 7’ that produced no fewer than 11 different victors.


Saturday’s Berlin E-Prix – Audi’s last – saw Brazil’s di Grassi claim his 12th Formula E victory, ahead of Edoardo Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing) and Mitch Evans (Jaguar Racing), after DS Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne (6th) and Antonio Felix da Costa (7th) had monopolized the grid’s front row.

There were still no fewer than 13 drivers in contention for the Drivers’ crown prior to the start of Sunday’s race which took place on the same abrasive track, but in the opposite direction.

Title favorites Evans and Mortara collided at lights-out, though, and the re-start saw another potential champion – rookie Jack Dennis – crash out. Dutchman de Vries, who had topped the table before the trip to Berlin, stayed out of trouble however to compensate for his retirement on Saturday and clinch the series with seventh place in Race 2 which saw Frenchman Nato claim his maiden Formula E win.


The 2022 FIA Formula E World Championship (Season 8) will kick off in Saudi Arabia on January 28.

Race 1 – Final positions:

  1. Lucas du Grassi (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler), 38 laps
  2. Edoardo Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing), +0.141s
  3. Mitch Evans (Jaguar Racing), +5.499s
  4. Norman Nato (RoKit Venturi Racing), +5.589s
  5. Jake Dennis (BMW Andretti Motorsport), +5.830s


Race 2 – Final positions:

  1. Norman Nato (Rokit Venturi Racing)
  2. Oliver Rowland (Nissan e.dams), +2.270s
  3. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-EQ FE Team), +2.837s
  4. André Lotterer (TAG Heuer Porsche FE Team), +7.105s
  5. Alexander Sims (Mahindra Racing), +8.453s



MotoGP™: Binder’s Austrian tire gamble pays off!

Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) scored the second MotoGPTM win of his career at the Bitci Motorrad Grand Prix von Österreich, Round 11 of the 2021 championship. The South African stayed out on MICHELIN Power Slicks in a late downpour to thwart Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) and Jorge Martin (Pramac Racing).  

24H du Mans

Michelin’s new Hypercar-generation tires ready for Le Mans debut

Having triumphed at Le Mans with a variety of petrol, diesel and hybrid prototypes over the past 20 or so years, Michelin is poised to kick off a new era as the famous French circuit prepares to host the latest-generation Hypercars equipped with an all-new range of specific MICHELIN Pilot Sport tires.


MotoGP: Martin takes first win at the MICHELIN Grand Prix of Styria

Primac Racing’s Jorge Martin set a new lap record for the Red Bull Ring to claim pole position for the MICHELIN Grand Prix of Styria, laying the foundations for his maiden MotoGPTM victory ahead of defending champ Joan Mir (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR) and this year’s pacesetter Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP). Three different bikemakers took part in the podium celebrations to provide a further example of the MICHELIN Power Slick’s exceptional versatility.


Monza glory for Toyota/Michelin

The 6 Hours of Monza – Round 3 of the 2012 FIA World Endurance Championship – was won by the MICHELIN Pilot Sport-equipped N°7 Toyota GR010 Hybrid of Conway/Kobayashi/Lopez. The Italian fixture was the last race before this year’s Le Mans 24 Hours on August 21-22.

More about Michelin Motorsport

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup