FIA Formula E

ABB FIA Formula E - 2020 Marrakesh E-Prix - Racecard

ABB FIA Formula E championship returns to Marrakesh for the 4th time. Clic on the photo to download our racecard and find out more about our sustainable mobility lab.

FIA Formula E

Evans (Jaguar/Michelin) triumphs in Mexico

The 2020 Mexico City E-Prix saw Mitch Evans steer his Michelin Pilot Sport-equipped Jaguar I-Type IV to an assertive victory. The New Zealander was joined on the podium by Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah/Michelin) and Sébastien Buemi (Nissan/Michelin).

FIA Formula E

Da Costa (DS Techeetah/Michelin) takes Marrakech laurels

Antonio Felix Da Costa steered his Michelin Pilot Sport-equipped DS E-Tense FE20 to victory in Marrakesh, home of Round 5 of the 2019/2020 ABB FIA Formula E Championship. Morocco, Africa’s number one nation in terms of renewable energy, has hosted Formula E action every year since 2016.

Committed to promoting sustainable mobility throughout its history, Michelin won this year’s Marrakesh E-Prix, a race partly powered by green electricity. What was the world’s most powerful solar plant at the time of its inauguration in 2016 is only 200km from the Moroccan city and produces 580MW, enough to provide cities twice the size of Marrakesh with electricity.

The Circuit Moulay El Hassan – the longest of the campaign (2.971km) – produced an entertaining clash which saw da Costa claim his first e-prix win of the season. Second and third spots went to battling duo Max Günther (BMW I Andretti Motorsport/Michelin) and Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin) who clawed back eight places in the course of the race.

Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams/Michelin) and Edoardo Mortara (ROKIT Venturi Racing/Michelin) rounded out the afternoon’s top five, ahead of championship pacesetter Mitch Evans (Panasonic Jaguar Racing/Michelin) who started from last on the grid. Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler/Michelin) also fought back strongly, from 13th to seventh at the flag.

“The fightbacks staged by drivers of the calibre of Vergne, di Grassi and Evans prove that the Michelin Pilot Sport is not only energy efficient but also a high-performance tyre that remains competitive lap after lap,” notes Jérôme Mondain, the manager of Michelin Motorsport’s Formula E programme. “These drivers went faster as the race progressed and, between them, pulled off numerous passing attempts as they climbed up the leaderboard.”

Following the cancellation of the Sanya E-Prix in China due to the coronavirus outbreak, the next round of the 2019/2020 championship will take teams to Rome, Italy, on April 4.

Meanwhile, the teams and Michelin Motorsport’s technical staff will remain in Marrakech for Sunday’s ‘Rookie Test’ where a long list of newcomers will get the opportunity to sample the all-electric Spark STR O5-e single-seater and its connected, exceptionally versatile Michelin Pilot Sport tyres.

Next round: Rome E-Prix, Italy (April 4, 2020)

Marrakesh E-Prix – Final positions:

1. Antonio Felix Da Costa (DS Techeetah), 34 laps

2. Max Günther (BMW I Andretti Motorsport), +11.427s

3. Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah), +12.034s

4. Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams), +12.282s

5. Edoardo Mortara (ROKIT Venturi Racing), +15.657s

6. Mitch Evans (Panasonic Jaguar Racing), +16.335s

7. Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler), +18.706s

8. André Lotterer (TAG Heuer Porsche), +19.498s

9. Oliver Rowland (Nissan e.dams), +20.126s

10. Sam Bird (Envision Virgin Racing), +20.295s



Grand-slam glory for Michelin in Texas

The Lone Star Le Mans (Round 5 of the 2019/2020 FIA World Endurance Championship) at the Circuit of The Americas in Austin, Texas, was won by the Michelin Pilot Sport Endurance-equipped Rebellion R13 of Bruno Senna, Gustavo Menezes and Norman Nato. Michelin cars also topped the order in LMP2 (N°22 Oreca07-Gibson), LMGTE Pro (N°95 Aston Martin) and LMGTE Am (N°90 Aston Martin).


Michelin scores 30th Rally Sweden triumph!

The 2020 Rally Sweden was won by Elfyn Evans driving a Michelin X-Ice North 3-equipped Toyota Yaris WRC. This year’s event was shortened due to a lack of snow, but Michelin’s studded WRC snow tyre delivered outstanding grip despite the unfamiliar conditions to combine the brand’s 30th Swedish victory with class wins in WRC2, WRC3 and RC4 which are all also open to competition between tyre firms.


FIA WRC - Rally Sweden - Racecard

Second round of the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC), the Rally Sweden could be a complex event in terms of conditions. Download our racecard to find out more about our tyre allocation.


Neuville claims maiden Monte success with Hyundai/Michelin

The outstanding grip provided by Michelin’s Pilot Sport range in the challenging conditions thrown up by the 2020 Rallye Monte-Carlo helped Thierry Neuville, Nicolas Gilsoul and Hyundai Motorsport collect their first ever victory on the winter classic, while Michelin’s Customer Competition tyres contributed to WRC2 and WRC3 glory for Citroën’s Mads Ostberg and Eric Camilli respectively. 

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup