FIA Formula E

The Michelin Pilot Sport EV revels in Rome’s mixed conditions!

The acclaimed versatility of Michelin’s Formula E tire helped Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah) and Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-Benz EQ) to win the Rome weekend’s two e-prix which were marked by unsettled weather.

FIA Formula E

The Michelin Pilot Sport EV lights up the Saudi sky

The Michelin Pilot Sport EV helped Nyck de Vries (Mercedes) and Sam Bird (Jaguar) to win the weekend’s two night-time Formula E e-prix in Diriyah, on the outskirts of Riyad. Michelin was a founding partner of the championship in 2014.

FIA Formula E

Complex Spanish weekend sees Michelin shine

Rounds 5 and 6 of the 2020/2021 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship at Circuit Ricardo Tormo near Valencia, Spain, threw a variety of conditions at the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV. The winners of the weekend’s two races were Nyck de Vries (Mercedes-EQ FE Team) and Jake Dennis (BMW I Andretti Motorsport).

The fifth and sixth rounds of the 2020/2021 Formula E campaign took teams to Valencia’s Circuit Ricardo Tormo, a permanent facility which presented them with a different set of challenges compared with those associated with the street circuits that generally provide the backdrop to Formula E action.

The Spanish venue’s abrasive surface produced more grip than usual, while shifting conditions – which ranged from a downpour for Race 1 to completely dry for Race 2 – added to the difficulties the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV had to cope with.


“We thought the conditions would be very different to those which marked the recent Rome E-Prix, and we certainly weren’t expecting such a mixed bag of weather,” said Jérôme Mondain, the manager of Michelin Motorsport’s Formula E program. “We were effectively treated to a bit of everything in Spain, from heavy rain to drying conditions, followed by what turned out to be a ‘green’ track for the second race. But it was still another positive weekend for the Pilot Sport EV.”

Michelin’s Formula E tire was effectively asked to deliver a combination of fast warm-up performance, versatility and durability, consistency and grip in both the dry and wet, while at the same time playing a part in optimizing the cars’ energy consumption.

These qualities are also hallmarks of the road-going MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV which is designed to equip sophisticated electric and hybrid road cars and which features ElectricGrip and GreenPower technology, both of which stem from Michelin’s involvement in Formula E.


Race 1, which took place in wet weather that led to several Safety Car interruptions, saw pole-sitter Antonio Felix da Costa lead from lights-out but he was deprived of the win when his battery ran flat on the last lap. The DS Techeetah driver’s misfortune handed victory to Nyck de Vries who was chased over the line by Nico Müller (Dragon Penske Autosport) and his Mercedes-EQ FE Team team-mate Stoffel Vandoorne. Ten drivers were not classified and five were disqualified.

The second race turned out to be one of the fastest in Formula E history and was won by Jake Dennis (BMW I Andretti Motorsports). The British rookie took advantage of his first ever Formula E pole-position to claim his maiden victory in the series, ahead of André Lotterer (TAG Heuer Porsche FE Team) and Alex Lynn (Mahindra Racing).

The next round of the 2020/2021 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship will take teams to Monaco on May 8.

Race 1 – Final positions:

  1. Nyck de Vries (Mercedes-Benz EQ FE Team), 24 laps
  2. Nico Müller (Dragon Penske Autosport), +13.128s
  3. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-Benz EW FE Team), +34.886s
  4. Nick Cassidy (Envision Virgin Racing), +36.903s
  5. Rene Rast (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler FE Team), +51.650s


Race 2 – Final positions:

  1. Jake Dennis (BMW I Andretti Motorsports), 30 laps
  2. André Lotterer (TAG Heuer Porsche FE Team), +1.483s
  3. Alex Lynn (Mahindra Racing), +2.428s
  4. Oliver Rowland (Nissan e.dams), +2.870s
  5. Norman Nato (RoKit Venturi Racing), +5.811s



MotoGP™: more records for Michelin as Quartararo triumphs in Portugal

The Grande Prémio 888 de Portugal, round three of the 2021 MotoGPTM World Championship, was won by Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) ahead of Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team), while defending champion Joan Mir (Team SUZUKI ECSTAR) made it three different bikemakers on the podium. The race’s blistering pace was aided by the outstanding grip delivered by the riders’ MICHELIN Power Slicks which contributed to new all-time lap record, fastest race-lap and shortest race-duration records for Portimão.  


Successful track debut for the new MICHELIN Pilot Sport

Thursday, March 4, 2021 – Le Castellet, France: Maiden outing for the new range of MICHELIN Pilot Sport Hypercar tires as the Toyota GR010 Hybrid completes a 30-hour endurance test.


MotoGP™: Quartararo clinches incredible Doha win as Michelin contributes to more new records

The outstanding grip and consistency provided by the MICHELIN Power Slick from the first to the last lap of the 22-lap TISSOT Grand Prix of Doha played an active role in delivering an absolute thriller in Qatar. The second round of the 2021 MotoGPTM World Championship was won by Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) who produced a spectacular late charge. Fellow Frenchman Johann Zarco (Pramac Racing) was second over the line, while rookie Jorge Martin (Pramac Racing) was third after starting from pole. Michelin’s tires helped to establish new fastest race-lap and race-duration records for Doha.  


MotoGP™: Qatar glory for Viñales as Michelin plays part in three new records

Sunday’s Barwa Grand Prix of Qatar saw Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) claim the first win of the 2021 MotoGPTM World Championship, ahead of Johann Zarco (2nd, Pramac Racing) and Francesco Bagnaia (3rd, Ducati Lenovo Team). The grip and consistency provided by the MICHELIN Power Slick made an active contribution to the excitement of the year’s opener which produced new track and race lap records, as well as a new top-speed benchmark.  

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup