Michelin’s decade of innovation and success in motorsport

In the course of the past 10 years, Michelin’s increasingly sophisticated, energy-efficient, consistent and, now, connected tyres collected more than 300 world-class victories in disciplines as varied as MotoGP, endurance racing, rallying and Formula E. 

Michelin’s first Formula 1 world titles

In 1979, Michelin demonstrated the superiority of its radial tyre technology by claiming the first of its titles in the Formula 1 World Championship. Forty years on, the French firm continues to see motorsport as a means to innovate and take its technologies forward, especially in competitions that place the accent on sustainable mobility and lasting performance. 

2014 Dakar – Leg 11: Coma and KTM in lead-management mode

Marc Coma (KTM-Michelin) has extended his cushion at the top of the 2014 Dakar’s leaderboard by winning the event’s 11th stage between Antofagasta and El Salvador. Cyril Despres (Yamaha Factory Racing-Michelin) was second on today’s test, ahead of team-mate Olivier Pain who claimed the first top-three time of his career.

Today’s run to El Salvador saw Coma take his third stage victory of the rally, ahead of Yamaha-Michelin riders Cyril Despres and Olivier Pain. Coma was fifth on the road today but was second behind Despres up to Check Point 1. He then used the remainder of the test, however, to pull clear of last year’s winner thanks to a trouble-free run over the infamous dunes near Copiapo.

Cyril Despres kept up his momentum to collect second place (+2m51s), while Olivier Pain was rewarded for his efforts by the day’s third step on the podium (+5m28s). Jordi Viladoms (KTM-Michelin) spent some time in second place but lost ground towards the end and had to settle for fourth spot (+5m53s). Joan Barreda (+8m12s, Honda-Michelin) rounded off the top five despite a fall which damaged his navigation system. The Spaniard was forced to complete the second half of the stage without a road-book.

Coma appears to be heading towards his fourth Dakar victory thanks to a seemingly comfortable lead of 52 minutes over second-placed Barreda. Four drivers are still in contention for the third step of the podium, namely Viladoms (3rd), Pain, Rodrigues and five-time winner Despres who is now just a minute short of the top five.

The 12th day features more dunes and could still spring a few surprises. The leg between El Salvador and La Serena (699km) includes a 349km stage.

Leg 11 – Positions:

1, Coma (KTM-Michelin). 2, Despres (Yamaha-Michelin), +2m51s. 3, Pain (Yamaha-Michelin), +5m28s. 4, Viladoms (KTM-Michelin), +5m53s. 5, Barreda (Honda-Michelin), +8m12s. Etc.

Provisional overall classification:

1, Coma (KTM-Michelin). 2, Barreda (Honda-Michelin), +52m36s. 3, Viladoms (KTM-Michelin), +2h7m56s. 4, Pain (Yamaha-Michelin), +2h21m40s. 5, Rodrigues (Honda), +2h30m35s. Etc.


Michelin on the virtual racing front

The coronavirus pandemic has obviously brought real motorsport to a halt, but many of Michelin’s driver partners have been keeping their eye in thanks to virtual races like Sebring SuperSaturday, e-Sport MotoGP and Porsche Supercup Virtual Edition.

24H du Mans

Le Mans 2020 put back 98 days

Initially scheduled for the weekend of June 13-14, this year’s Le Mans 24 Hours has been postponed until mid-September due to the coronavirus outbreak. The 1968 race was also held in September and saw Michelin provide new radial tyres for its partner Alpine.


Rally Mexico Win #6 for Ogier

Sébastien Ogier steered his Michelin LTX Force-equipped Toyota Yaris WRC to victory this weekend to earn his sixth success in Mexico. However, Round 3 of the 2020 FIA World Rally Championship was brought to an early close due to the coronavirus outbreak.


FIA WRC - 2020 Rally Guanajuato Mexico - Racecard

The Rally Mexico is the season’s opening gravel round and a big challenge for the Michelin tyres! Get our racecard to find out more about the 3rd round of the 2020

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

Michelin Le Mans Cup