Michelin Motorsport News

Video: the highlights from Rally Finland

Watch the highlights from Rally Finland which was won by Sébastien Ogier (Volkswagen-Michelin).

2013 Rally Finland: Ogier (Volkswagen-Michelin) takes a step closer to title

The assertive victory of Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia in Finland today takes the pair and Volkswagen-Michelin even further clear at the top of the 2013 world championship standings. The Frenchman becomes only the fourth ‘non-Nordic’ driver to beat the locals on this high-speed event. He was joined on the ‘Finn-less’ podium by Ford-Michelin’s Thierry Neuville (2nd) and Mads Ostberg (3rd) whose fight for silver was a highlight of the last day.

Ogier takes Sardinian laurels

Sébastien Ogier (Volkswagen Polo R WRC/Michelin) returned to his winning ways with an emphatic success in Sardinia today. He was joined on the podium by Thierry Neuville (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) and Jari-Matti Latvala (VW).

101 entries for Finland

The organisers of the Neste Oil Rally Finland (July 31-August 3), round eight of the 2013 FIA World Rally Championship, have received 101 entries.

The ‘28 Hours of Olbia’

Not only does the Rallyd’Italia-Sardegna clash with the 2013 Le Mans 24 Hours, but the formats of the two events are quite similar. Indeed, competitors on the Italian WRC round will spend just 28 of the event’s 37 hours (from start to finish ceremony) behind the wheel of their respective cars.

Firsts in Greek history…

The 2013 Acropolis Rally saw 22-year old Evgeny Novikov lead a world class rally for the first time, while Andreas Mikkelsen, 23, posted his first fastest stage times.

Video: highlights from Acropolis Rally of Greece

Best-of-RallyLive brings you the highlights from Acropolis Rally of Greece which was won by Jari-Matti Latvala (Volkswagen-Michelin)

Acropolis triumph for ‘Grandad’ Latvala

Volkswagen/Michelin’s Jari-Matti claimed the eighth world class win of his career today in Greece. The sure-footed Finn led from SS4 to beat Spaniard Dani Sordo (Citroën/Michelin) by the handsome margin of 1m50.0s. Neuville’s patience was rewarded with third place for Ford/Michelin, while the three Power Stage bonus points went to the championship leader Sébastien Ogier (VW/Michelin).

A new-look Acropolis Rally

With the exception of the former Safari, the Acropolis has long been the roughest and toughest round of the WRC. This year’s competition in Greece is exceptionally short, however, although the traditional ingredients are still all there… Best-of-RallyLive asked the drivers what they thought of the weekend’s challenge…

Greeted by Greek heat

This year’s Acropolis Rally may be a particularly short version of the Greek classic, but high temperatures promise to make it as punishing as ever. The weather forecast suggests that the final day (Sunday) could provide an interesting sting in the tail, however.

Video: highlights of Rally Argentina

Watch the highlights from Rally Argentina which was won by Sébastien Loeb (Citroën/Michelin).

Viva Argentina!

The fifth round of the 2013 WRC is the Philips LED Rally Argentina. It marks Sébastien Loeb’s return to the championship after a two-month absence which saw Sébastien Ogier add two more victories to his personal record.

The Michelin Motorsport network

Join the Michelin Motorsport network