Michelin Motorsport News

Monte Carlo tyres, then and now…

In the 40-plus years since the World Rally Championship’s creation (1973), tyres have frequently played a decisive role, and nowhere more so than on the Rallye Monte-Carlo. However, compared to the days when drivers had a specific tyre solution for nearly every imaginable scenario, today’s choice is far more rational and sustainable.

Welcome to the 2014 WRC!

With less than two days to go before the start of the 2014 FIA World Rally Championship, the 42nd in the sport’s history, the Rallye Monte-Carlo’s service park in Gap is gradually taking shape.

ERC – Jännerrallye: Kubica steals Austrian victory

The first round of the 2014 FIA European Rally Championship (ERC) was won by last season’s WRC-2 champion Robert Kubica (Ford/Michelin) after a thrilling fight with the Czech Republic’s Väclav Pech (2nd, Mini S2000) and Austria’s Raimund Baumschlager (3rd, Skoda Fabia S2000).

Dakar 2014: the other expected front-runners

The biggest threat to the Mini ALL4 Racing, Ford Ranger and Toyota Hilux brigade in South America promises to come from the leading buggy and Hummer drivers.

Dakar 2014: Ford joins the adventure

Despite its enviable record in motorsport, this will be Ford’s first involvement in the Dakar. The brand’s effort is being led by its South African subsidiary which has entered Ford Racing Ranger T1s for Lucio Alvarez and Chris Wisser.

Dakar 2014: a fleet of 11 Minis !

The number of drivers Monster Energy X-Raid has entered for this year’s Dakar is enough to form a soccer team! Three former winners – Peterhansel (N°300), Al-Attiyah (N°301) and Roma (N°304) – are competing in Michelin-equipped Mini ALL4 Racings.

Dakar 2014: Toyota’s sights set higher

After coming second in 2013, South Africa’s Giniel de Villiers is targeting victory this time round in his Toyota. Several similar Hilux pickups have been entered by Overdrive.

ERC: New Year wishes from Austria !

It was in Freistadt (Upper Austria) that the teams and crews participating in the FIA European Rally Championship rang in 2014, and Best-of-RallyLive joins them in wishing you all a very happy New Year…

A 71-strong entry for the Monte

The ACM (Automobile Club de Monaco) has published the entry list for the 2014 Rallye Monte-Carlo (January 14-19). It features three VW Polo R WRCs, two Hyundai i20 WRCs, two Citroën DS3 WRCs and seven Ford Fiesta RS WRCs, including an M-Sport car for Bryan Bouffier.

ERC prize-giving

The FIA European Rally Championship’s prize-giving evening took place on Tuesday evening in Paris, France. The 250 guests who attended the function saw Jean Todt hand the 2013 ERC trophies to Jan Kopecky and Pavel Dresler.

VW and Ogier conclude title-winning year in style!

The 2013 world champion Sébastien Ogier rounded off 2013 with his ninth victory of the year on Wales Rally GB, taking Volkswagen/Michelin’s score to 10 wins from 13 rounds! The Frenchman’s speed frustrated the bid of team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala (2nd, +21.8s) to make it three Rally GB wins in a row. Podium honours sufficed for Thierry Neuville (Ford, +1m24.5s) to come second in this season’s WRC. The first prize in the WRC-2 and WRC-3 classes went to Elfyn Evans (Ford) and Quentin Gilbert (Citroën) respectively.

Video: highlights from Wales Rally GB

Watch the highlights from Wales Rally GB which was won by the 2013 World Champion, Sébastien Ogier (Volkswagen/Michelin).

The Michelin Motorsport network

Join the Michelin Motorsport network