Michelin Motorsport News

ERC: New Year wishes from Austria !

It was in Freistadt (Upper Austria) that the teams and crews participating in the FIA European Rally Championship rang in 2014, and Best-of-RallyLive joins them in wishing you all a very happy New Year…

A 71-strong entry for the Monte

The ACM (Automobile Club de Monaco) has published the entry list for the 2014 Rallye Monte-Carlo (January 14-19). It features three VW Polo R WRCs, two Hyundai i20 WRCs, two Citroën DS3 WRCs and seven Ford Fiesta RS WRCs, including an M-Sport car for Bryan Bouffier.

ERC prize-giving

The FIA European Rally Championship’s prize-giving evening took place on Tuesday evening in Paris, France. The 250 guests who attended the function saw Jean Todt hand the 2013 ERC trophies to Jan Kopecky and Pavel Dresler.

VW and Ogier conclude title-winning year in style!

The 2013 world champion Sébastien Ogier rounded off 2013 with his ninth victory of the year on Wales Rally GB, taking Volkswagen/Michelin’s score to 10 wins from 13 rounds! The Frenchman’s speed frustrated the bid of team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala (2nd, +21.8s) to make it three Rally GB wins in a row. Podium honours sufficed for Thierry Neuville (Ford, +1m24.5s) to come second in this season’s WRC. The first prize in the WRC-2 and WRC-3 classes went to Elfyn Evans (Ford) and Quentin Gilbert (Citroën) respectively.

Video: highlights from Wales Rally GB

Watch the highlights from Wales Rally GB which was won by the 2013 World Champion, Sébastien Ogier (Volkswagen/Michelin).

The WRC season’s finale in Wales

The 2013 FIA World Rally Championship is poised to end this weekend in the forests of Wales where the planet’s best drivers will be free to fight for victory.

Video: the highlights from Rally de Espana

Watch the highlights from Rally de Espana which was won by Sébastien Ogier (Volkswagen/Michelin).

World titles* for Volkswagen and Kubica!

The 2013 RallyRACC-Rally de Espana saw Sébastien Ogier and Jari-Matti Latvala earn Volkswagen’s first one-two finish in the WRC, as well as its first Manufacturers’ world title. The French pair’s victory also brought Michelin a 23rd Manufacturers’ crown, while Poland’s Robert Kubica (Citroën/Michelin) wrapped up the year’s WRC-2 contest.

Viva Espana!

Three weeks after the WRC’s French thriller in Alsace, the RallyRACC-Catalunya-Costa Daurada-Rally de Espana is likely to settle both the 2013 Manufacturers’ and WRC-2 titles. The mixed-surface event will begin with two days on asphalt and conclude with gravel action on Sunday.

Video: the highlights from Rallye de France

Watch the highlights from 2013 Rallye de France, including the crash of Loeb, which was won by Sébastien Ogier (Volkswagen/Michelin)

The world title and victory for Ogier/Ingrassia

Not only did the 2013 Rallye de France-Alsace see Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia (VW/Michelin) claim the first world title of their career*, but it also brought them their seventh win of the season. Dani Sordo (Citroën) and Jari-Matti Latvala (VW) were second, while Sébastien Loeb bowed out of the sport with a score of nine world crowns and 78 victories to his name. Thanks for everything, Seb!

Rallying’s elite head for Alsace

In addition to (probably) settling the 2013 Drivers’ and Co-Drivers’ title chases, round 11 of the FIA World Rally Championship will be the swansong appearance of nine-time champions Sébastien Loeb and Daniel Elena. It will also be the last clash between Loeb and new star Sébastien Ogier.

The Michelin Motorsport network

Join the Michelin Motorsport network