Michelin Motorsport News

ERC: slides to Latvia victory

Latvia’s Rally Liepaja, round two of the 2014 FIA European Rally Championship, was won by Finn Esapekka Lappi (Skoda Fabia S2000/Michelin), ahead of Russia’s Vasiliy Gryazin (Fiesta S2000) and Irishman Craig Breen (Peugeot 207 S2000).

ERC: a chilly trip to Latvia

There are plenty of stars entered for Round 2 of the FIA European Rally Championship (ERC), Rally Liepaja. Craig Breen (Peugeot 207 S2000), Bryan Bouffier (Citroën DS3 RRC), Esapekka Lappi (Skoda Fabia S2000), Kajetan Kajetanowicz (Ford Fiesta R5) figure among the entry list’s top names.

2014 Dakar: victories for Roma and Karginov with Michelin

The Car and Truck categories of the 2014 Dakar (from Rosario, Argentina, to Valparaiso, Chile) were won by Spaniard Nani Roma (Mini/Michelin) and Russia’s Andrey Karginov (Kamaz/Michelin) respectively.

The ‘Monte Carlo’ name in automotive history

Like Sebring, Daytona and Le Mans, the aura of Monte Carlo has inspired generations of automobile designers and manufacturers over the years. The name has been used for numerous models and limited editions, from the Skoda Popular to the Montecarlo Rascasse…

Sébastien Ogier wins in Monte Carlo

Defending world champions Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia harvested Volkswagen’s maiden victory on the prestigious Rallye Monte-Carlo today. The French pair was joined on the podium by compatriots Bryan Bouffier/Xavier Panséri (Ford) and British-Irish crew Kris Meeke/Paul Nagle (Citroën).

Monte Carlo tyres, then and now…

In the 40-plus years since the World Rally Championship’s creation (1973), tyres have frequently played a decisive role, and nowhere more so than on the Rallye Monte-Carlo. However, compared to the days when drivers had a specific tyre solution for nearly every imaginable scenario, today’s choice is far more rational and sustainable.

Welcome to the 2014 WRC!

With less than two days to go before the start of the 2014 FIA World Rally Championship, the 42nd in the sport’s history, the Rallye Monte-Carlo’s service park in Gap is gradually taking shape.

ERC – Jännerrallye: Kubica steals Austrian victory

The first round of the 2014 FIA European Rally Championship (ERC) was won by last season’s WRC-2 champion Robert Kubica (Ford/Michelin) after a thrilling fight with the Czech Republic’s Väclav Pech (2nd, Mini S2000) and Austria’s Raimund Baumschlager (3rd, Skoda Fabia S2000).

Dakar 2014: the other expected front-runners

The biggest threat to the Mini ALL4 Racing, Ford Ranger and Toyota Hilux brigade in South America promises to come from the leading buggy and Hummer drivers.

Dakar 2014: Ford joins the adventure

Despite its enviable record in motorsport, this will be Ford’s first involvement in the Dakar. The brand’s effort is being led by its South African subsidiary which has entered Ford Racing Ranger T1s for Lucio Alvarez and Chris Wisser.

Dakar 2014: a fleet of 11 Minis !

The number of drivers Monster Energy X-Raid has entered for this year’s Dakar is enough to form a soccer team! Three former winners – Peterhansel (N°300), Al-Attiyah (N°301) and Roma (N°304) – are competing in Michelin-equipped Mini ALL4 Racings.

Dakar 2014: Toyota’s sights set higher

After coming second in 2013, South Africa’s Giniel de Villiers is targeting victory this time round in his Toyota. Several similar Hilux pickups have been entered by Overdrive.

The Michelin Motorsport network

Join the Michelin Motorsport network