MotoGP: off to Austin!

After visiting Qatar and Argentina, the MotoGPTM World Championship travels to the Circuit of the Americas, near Austin, Texas, USA, for round three of the 2017 season: the Red Bull Grand Prix of the Americas.


MotoGP: a second straight win for Viñales

The winner of the second round of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship at Termas de Rio Hondo, Argentina, was Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) who also won the season’s recent opener in Qatar. Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) were second and third in South America. 


MotoGP: the 2016 championship to conclude in Valencia

The 2016 MotoGPTM World Championship draws to a close this weekend at Spain’s Circuito Comunidad Valenciana Ricardo Tormo which has hosted the last race every season since 2002.


This time around, the identities of the champion and runner-up are already known after a season that has seen nine different riders win races, a figure never previously reached in the 68-year history of motorcycle racing’s premier series.

The name to engrave on the bronze medal has yet to be decided, however, with both Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP, 208) and Maverick Viñales (Team Suzuki Ecstar, 191 points) still in contention.

Marc Márquez, who clinched his third MotoGP world title in Japan in only his fourth campaign with Repsol Honda Team, and who is staying with the Japanese make in 2017, is targeting a sixth victory at Valencia.

Meanwhile, Valentino Rossi, who signed for two more years at Movistar Yamaha MotoGP at the year’s curtain-raiser in Qatar, and who secured runner-up honours in Malaysia, is hoping for a third win in front of Spanish fans.

The season’s finale will have a special flavour, too, for those riders who are preparing to switch teams this winter.

Maverick Viñales, who is poised to join Rossi at Movistar Yamaha MotoGP next season, and Jorge Lorenzo, who will be looking for one last top result with Yamaha before moving on to Ducati, will be focused on their fight for third place. In 2015, after posting a new qualifying lap record, the Majorcan went on to clinch the title with victory. He also won at Valencia in 2010 and 2013.

After sitting out the last three races due to the broken collarbone he suffered in Japan, Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) returns to the circuit that saw him notch up MotoGP wins in 2007, 2009 and 2012.

After becoming the season’s ninth different winner in Malaysia, Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) stands out as another possible front-runner, while his team-mate Andrea Iannone will be making his last appearance for Ducati ahead of his transfer to Suzuki.

Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) is still the best-placed Independent Teams Rider, 17 points clear of Pol Espargaró (Monster Yamaha Tech3) who, along with team-mate Bradley Smith, will race in the colours of KTM in 2017. The Austrian make will be represented at Valencia by Red Bull KTM Factory Racing which has a wild card entry for Mika Kallio.

Michelin will have a range of front and rear MICHELIN Power Slicks for the Spanish clash. Two different versions of the front tyre will be available (medium, no marking / hard, yellow marking), plus a choice of two rears (soft compound, white marking / medium, no marking). All four will have an asymmetrical construction, with a harder compound for the left-hand shoulder. For wet conditions, the riders will be able to choose between the extra soft, soft and medium front MICHELIN Power Rain, with soft and medium variants of the same tyre on hand for the rear wheels. The MICHELIN Power Inter will be available for changeable weather.

Action will begin with the first free practice session at 9:55am on Friday, November 11.

Download the press release here

Download the racecard here


Toyota/Michelin wins Silverstone WEC opener

Toyota Gazoo Racing and Michelin won Great Britain’s 6 Hours of Silverstone for the second time after their maiden victory there together in 2014. First past the flag was the N°8 TS050 Hybrid of Buemi/Davidson/Nakajima, which finished clear of the N°2 (Bernhard/Bamber/Hartley) and N°1 (Jani/Lotterer/Tandy) Porsches. Michelin won all three of the classes in which it was represented. 


Neuville claims Corsica win for Hyundai/Michelin

Thierry Neuville earned a handsome victory for Hyundai Motorsport in Corsica to become the fourth different winner of a WRC round from four starts this year. Michelin’s score on the Mediterranean island now stands at 25 outright victories with 11 different makes since the championship’s creation in 1973.

FIA Formula E

Mexico City ePrix: di Grassi claims surprise win

Lucas di Grassi (Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport) took an unexpected win at Mexico City’s Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez after a chaotic race. The Brazilian was joined on the podium by Jean-Eric Vergne (Techeetah) and Sam Bird (DS Virgin).


Rally Mexico produces the 2017 WRC’s third winner!

Following in the slipstream of Sébastien Ogier and Jari-Matti Latvala, who took the spoils in Monte Carlo and Sweden respectively, Kris Meeke clinched the top prize in Mexico on Sunday at the wheel of his Citroën C3 WRC/Michelin. Ogier (Ford/Michelin) and Thierry Neuville (Hyundai/Michelin) joined the Briton on the podium.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2016 Records

Sustainable development