MotoGP: Dovizioso reaps Silverstone honours

The Octo British Grand Prix – Round 12 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship – was won by Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) who is the new Riders’ standings leader. Second and third at Silverstone were Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) and Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP). 


MotoGP: Silverstone-bound

The MotoGPTM World Championship caravan travels to Silverstone this weekend for the year’s twelfth clash: the Octo British Grand Prix. Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) tops the provisional standings, 16 points clear of second-placed Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team). 


MotoGP: next stop Misano

Round 13 of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship will take teams to Misano, on the Adriatic coast, for the Gran Premio Tribul Mastercard di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini. For the very first time, Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) tops the standings ahead of the Italian round.


Although it is situated just seven kilometres from Tavullia, the birthplace of Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP), Misano will not be hosting its local star this weekend after the nine-time world champion broke a leg in a fall while training. He will be out of action for between 30 and 40 days and consequently has little chance of bridging the 26-point deficit that currently separates him from Dovizioso in his bid to claim a tenth world crown.

Dovizioso, meanwhile, notched up his fourth win of the season at Silverstone and will be keen to defend his championship lead at Misano, despite never having succeeded in finishing on the podium there. He is provisionally nine points clear in the Riders’ standings, chased by Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) who was eliminated by engine failure at the British GP two weeks’ ago.

Third, a further four points adrift, is Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) who will be hoping to rekindle his title challenge on Sunday.

The race’s 2016 winner Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) follows in fifth spot (+35 points) and will be out to add an eighth podium finish to his 2017 record, and why not the top step?

Sixth is the best-placed rookie, Frenchman Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech3), while Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) are seventh and eighth.

The Gran Premio Tribul Mastercard di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini will also mark the comeback of Jonas Folger (Monster Yamaha Tech3). After failing to finish in Austria due to a mechanical problem, he sat out the British GP following a fall during the warm-up session. The German is ninth in the championship order.

Riders will be able to choose between two medium- and one hard-compound MICHELIN Power Slicks for the front and rear. The front tyres will all be symmetric, but the rears will be asymmetric, with a reinforced right-hand shoulder. Soft and medium front and rear MICHELIN Power Rains will be on hand for poor weather (rear medium: asymmetric).

Free practice is due to start on Friday, September 8, at 9:55am local time.


Porsche/Michelin enjoys Mexican fiesta

The 6 Hours of Mexico saw Porsche Team claim its second one-two finish in as many rounds of the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship, with the N°2 Porsche 919 Hybrid/Michelin (Bernhard/Bamber/Hartley) securing top spot ahead of the N°1 sister prototype (Jani/Lotterer/Tandy). The N°8 and N°7 Michelin-equipped Toyota TS050 Hybrids were third and fourth at Mexico City’s Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez.    


First Germany triumph for Ford/Michelin

Ott Tanak collected the second win of his WRC career and earned Ford/M-Sport’s maiden ADAC Rallye Deutschland victory today in Germany. Third place behind Andreas Mikkelsen (Citroën/Michelin) enabled Sébastien Ogier (Ford/Michelin) to recover the Drivers’ championship lead from Thierry Neuville. Pontus Tidemand (Skoda/Michelin) is the 2017 WRC2 world champion.

FIA Formula E

Di Grassi and Renault e.dams secure 2016/2017 Formula E titles

The last meeting of the 2016/2017 Formula E Championship saw Brazil’s Lucas di Grassi (Abt-Schaeffler Audi Sport) and Renault-e.dams/Michelin clinch the Drivers’ and Teams’ titles in Montreal, Canada.


Finland’s Esapekka Lappi strikes first WRC gold!

The 2017 Rally Finland was won by homegrown rising star Esapekka Lappi (Toyota/Michelin). He finished clear of Briton Elfyn Evans (Ford) and compatriot Juho Hänninen to claim his first world class success. Toyota took its 45th WRC victory.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2016 Records

Sustainable development