MotoGP: Rossi returns to winning ways at Assen

Sunday’s Motul Assen TT, round eight of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship, was won by Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP). Second and third were fellow Italian Danilo Petrucci (Octo Prama Racing) and Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team). 


MotoGP: Assen’s ‘Cathedral of Speed’ for the Dutch GP

Assen is the only circuit to have been visited by the MotoGPTM World Championship every season since 1949. The Motul TT Assen is round eight of the 2017 calendar. 


MotoGP: heading to the year’s penultimate race in Malaysia

In the wake of its recent stopovers in Japan and Australia, the 2106 MotoGPTM World Championship’s next port of call is Sepang, Malaysia for the season’s penultimate clash and the year’s last long haul fixture.


The 17th of the 2016 MotoGP World Championship’s 18 rounds takes teams to Sepang for this weekend’s Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix which was one of the big turning points of the 2015 season.

This time around, Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) has already made sure of the Riders’ title, so the situation is very different, with essentially only the fight for the silver and bronze medals still to settle.

This three-cornered battle involves Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP, 216 points), Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP, 192 points) and Maverick Viñales (Team Suzuki Ecstar, 181 points) who are second, third and fourth in the provisional standings.

Second place in last Sunday’s Michelin Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix boosted the Italian’s chances of scooping the season’s runner-up honours. The nine-time world champion only needs to score two more points than his team-mate in Malaysia to conclude the campaign as vice-champion.

Meanwhile, Lorenzo, who was sixth at Phillip Island, is only 11 points clear of Viñales who came third in Australia.

Sepang’s 2015 winner Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) will miss this year’s race due to the broken collar bone he sustained in Japan. As a result, there is a chance he might be pipped to fifth place by Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) who claimed his second victory last weekend. The Briton is now just 14 points short of the Spaniard. He is also 24 points clear of Pol Espargaró (Monster Yamaha Tech3) and could well wrap up the Independent Team Riders’ prize with the year’s late-November finale in Valencia still to come.

Sepang is a track that Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) tends to enjoy and the Italian will be hoping to become the ninth different rider to win a race in 2016.

Pol Espargaró and Bradley Smith will be out to build on their positive performances in Australia - where they ended up fifth and eighth respectively – before switching from Monster Yamaha Tech3 to KTM in 2017.

Michelin will have three different versions of the front MICHELIN Power Slick for Sepang (soft compound, white marking / medium, no marking / hard, yellow) and a choice of two rears (hard compound, yellow marking / medium, no marking). The two rear tyres have an asymmetrical construction, with a harder compound for the right-hand shoulder. For wet conditions, the riders will be able to choose between the soft (blue marking) and medium (no marking) full wets, or the front and rear intermediates for changeable weather.

Download the press release here

Download the racecard here

24H du Mans

Le Mans 2017: Michelin’s 20th Le Mans consecutive victory in numbers

Michelin won the Le Mans 24 Hours for the 20th straight year and for the third year in a row in association with Porsche after posting the fastest ever lap of the French circuit with Toyota. 

24H du Mans

Porsche LMP Team hands Michelin its 20th straight Le Mans win!

The 2017 Le Mans 24 Hours saw Michelin extend its uninterrupted winning record in La Sarthe to 20 outright victories since 1998. It was assisted in its quest by the dogged determination of the N°2 Porsche crew (Bernhard/Bamber/Hartley) who fought back from an early technical issue to scoop the coveted trophy with an hour to go. Along with the N°8 Toyota, which finished back in ninth spot, the German machine was one of only two LMP1-H prototypes to reach the flag after disaster struck the class’s other three factory entries. Michelin’s successful weekend was compounded by a one-two-three finish in LM GTE Am in association with Ferrari, plus a double podium in LM GTE Pro.


Le Mans 2017: Toyota/Michelin grabs history-making pole!

The final evening of Le Mans qualifying turned out to be a landmark occasion with drivers setting new qualifying records up and down the classes. Toyota/Michelin’s Kamui Kobayashi (N°7 TS050-Hybrid, Conway/Kobayashi/Sarrazin) stunned his rivals early on with a 3m14.791. That not only took the wind out of Porsche’s sails but also goes down as the fastest ever lap in Le Mans history. There were record performances, too, in LMP2 (N°26 Oreca), LM GTE Pro (N°97 Aston Martin) and LM GTE Am (N°50 Chevrolet/Michelin).

24H du Mans

The life of a Michelin tyre down racing’s most famous straight

The Mulsanne Straight at Le Mans is one of the longest straights in motorsport. This 5.5km run actually uses a main road that leads out of the French city to Tours and has been split into three parts by two chicanes since 1990. Tyres are subjected to considerable lateral, longitudinal and vertical forces along this celebrated portion of asphalt.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2016 Records

Sustainable development