MotoGP: back to Europe

While the first three races of the 2017 MotoGP World Championship took place ‘overseas’, round four brings the teams back to Europe for this weekend’s Gran Premio Red Bull de España at Jerez, Spain.

2017 Dakar Rally: Michelin’s 34th Dakar victory on two wheels

The first Dakar victory of British biker Sam Sunderland (KTM Factory Team-Michelin) notched up Michelin’s 34th success on the famous cross-country rally. 

MotoGP: assertive Lorenzo wins French Grand Prix with the new rear tyre

Round 5 of the 2016 MotoGPTM World Championship at Le Mans-Bugatti, France, was won by Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP). The Majorcan is back on top of the provisional standings thanks to his victory over team-mate Valentino Rossi and Maverick Viñales (Team Suzuki Ecstar).

After establishing a new qualifying lap record for Le Mans-Bugatti (1m31.975s) to claim pole position for the French Grand Prix, Lorenzo got away to a first class start and defended his lead from ‘lights out’ to the end of the 28-lap race. His speed and consistency allowed him to take the flag with a 10-second cushion over Rossi.

Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso and Andrea Iannone did their best to match the 2015 world champion’s early pace, but the latter fell in his bid to close the gap on Lap 8.

With Lorenzo clear in front, Dovizioso then found himself under pressure from Marquez (Team Repsol Honda), as well as from Rossi who succeeded in easing past both men on the race’s 14th lap.

Marquez and Dovizioso did their best to stay on the Italian’s tail but both fell practically simultaneously three laps later.

Their woes handed third spot to Maverick Viñales who earned Suzuki’s first podium finish since Loris Capirossi’s third place at Brno, Czech Republic, in 2008. It was also the Spanish youngster’s first top-three result since his promotion to motorcycle racing’s premier class in 2015.

Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) ended up fourth, ahead of the best-placed independent team rider Pol Espargaró (Monster Yamaha Tech3).

Aleix Espargaró (Team Suzuki Ecstar), Danilo Petrucci (Octo Pramac Yakhnich), Héctor Barberá (Avintia), Alvaro Bautista (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) and Stefan Bradl (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) rounded out the top 10.

Loris Baz (Avintia Racing) – the only Frenchman in the race – crossed the line in 12th spot, ahead of Marquez who succeeded in completing the distance despite his fall.

Thanks to his second victory of the year, Lorenzo tops the provisional Riders’ standings, five and 12 points clear of Marquez and Rossi respectively.

 Next round: Italian Grand Prix, Mugello (May 20-22).

Download the press release here


MotoGP: a flawless weekend for Viñales at Le Mans

Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) produced a grand-slam performance at the HJC Helmets Grand Prix de France, round five of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship. The Spaniard added pole position and fastest race lap to his third win of the season. Second and third were local star Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech3) and Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team). 


Ogier claims fifth Portugal victory

A fifth Rally de Portugal victory for Sébastien Ogier has taken the Ford Fiesta RS WRC/Michelin star’s personal tally to 40 world class wins and level with Markku Alèn as the event’s most successful driver. The Frenchman has also established a new record for the highest number of WRC points scored at this level. He was joined on Sunday’s podium by Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC/Michelin rivals Thierry Neuville and Dani Sordo.

FIA Formula E

Paris ePrix: Buemi triumphs in French capital

Sébastien Buemi (Renault e.dams) followed up his victory in Monaco last week with another at Saturday’s Paris ePrix, ahead of Lopez and Heidfeld. A mistake by rival Lucas di Grassi (Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport) helped him to comfort his cushion at the top of the provisional Drivers’ standings.


MotoGP: next stop Le Mans, France

Round five of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship, and the second to take place on European soil, is this weekend’s HJC Helmets Grand Prix de France at Le Mans-Bugatti. 

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2016 Records

Sustainable development