FIA Formula E

Berlin ePrix: Rosenqvist on form in Berlin

Sweden’s Felix Rosenqvist (Mahindra Racing) left Berlin with the weekend’s highest points haul thanks to his victory in Saturday’s race. Sunday’s victor was the championship’s provisional leader Sébastien Buemi (Renault e.dams).

FIA Formula E

Paris ePrix: Buemi triumphs in French capital

Sébastien Buemi (Renault e.dams) followed up his victory in Monaco last week with another at Saturday’s Paris ePrix, ahead of Lopez and Heidfeld. A mistake by rival Lucas di Grassi (Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport) helped him to comfort his cushion at the top of the provisional Drivers’ standings.

FIA Formula E

FIA FORMULA E (Marrakech): Buemi (Renault-e. dams) extends championship lead

Victory in Morocco has seen Renault-e.dams and its Swiss star Sébastien Buemi open up a handsome early lead in the 2016/2017 FIA Formula E Championship. Saturday’s ePrix in the streets of Marrakech served as an eloquent and spectacular shop window for electric mobility.

The first visible sign we saw that COP22 was in town was the impressive fleet of electric vehicles waiting outside Marrakech’s airport to whisk participants to the United Nations conference. Not far from there, on Jemaa el Fna Square, close to the famous souk, the traditional snake charmers were busy mystifying visitors from around the world.

Thanks to features such as their competitive, versatile, energy-efficient Michelin Pilot Sport EV2 tyres, as well the solar-powered and glycol-fuelled systems they use to charge their batteries, the all-electric Formula E single-seaters are technological laboratories designed to play a part in combatting global warming. That is why the Formula E Championship had such a key role to play at this year’s climate change summit.

The day before the race, 16-year old Moroccan driver Michael Benyahia was invited to drive a Renault SPARK SRT_01E/MICHELIN along avenue Hassan II to the COP22 conference centre.

The championship organisers also took advantage of the event to show the United Nations delegation a documentary about global warming and try to establish a new record with the presence around Moulay El Hassan Circuit of 50,581 postcards from children explaining how they are reducing their carbon footprint.

The track, which also hosts a round of the FIA Word Touring Car Championship, set another record on race day when Swede Félix Rosenqvist (Mahindra) posted the fastest lap, outpacing the best times clocked by the WTCC fraternity.

The race was attended by numerous personalities from the world of politics who saw Switzerland’s Sébastien Buemi take the day’s win to extend his lead in the championship.

Formula E action will resume in the New Year with the Buenos Aires ePrix on February 18, 2017. Last year’s clash in the Argentine capital’s Puerto Madero district was won by Sam Bird.


MotoGP: Rossi returns to winning ways at Assen

Sunday’s Motul Assen TT, round eight of the 2017 MotoGPTM World Championship, was won by Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP). Second and third were fellow Italian Danilo Petrucci (Octo Prama Racing) and Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team). 

24H du Mans

Le Mans 2017: Michelin’s 20th Le Mans consecutive victory in numbers

Michelin won the Le Mans 24 Hours for the 20th straight year and for the third year in a row in association with Porsche after posting the fastest ever lap of the French circuit with Toyota. 


MotoGP: Assen’s ‘Cathedral of Speed’ for the Dutch GP

Assen is the only circuit to have been visited by the MotoGPTM World Championship every season since 1949. The Motul TT Assen is round eight of the 2017 calendar. 

24H du Mans

Porsche LMP Team hands Michelin its 20th straight Le Mans win!

The 2017 Le Mans 24 Hours saw Michelin extend its uninterrupted winning record in La Sarthe to 20 outright victories since 1998. It was assisted in its quest by the dogged determination of the N°2 Porsche crew (Bernhard/Bamber/Hartley) who fought back from an early technical issue to scoop the coveted trophy with an hour to go. Along with the N°8 Toyota, which finished back in ninth spot, the German machine was one of only two LMP1-H prototypes to reach the flag after disaster struck the class’s other three factory entries. Michelin’s successful weekend was compounded by a one-two-three finish in LM GTE Am in association with Ferrari, plus a double podium in LM GTE Pro.

More about Michelin Motorsport

24H du Mans

Facts and Figures

2016 Records

Sustainable development