Michelin Motorsport News

Rally Mexico: the 10th as a WRC qualifier

First organised in 1979, Rally Mexico became a round of the FIA World Rally Championship in 2004. It has since become a unanimously popular fixture thanks to the quality of its stages and its compact format based in Léon. Today, it figures among the top-five world class rallies.

Video: highlights from Rally Sweden

Watch the highlights from Rally Sweden which was won by Sébastien Ogier (Volkswagen/Michelin).

Maiden success for the VW Polo R WRC/Michelin

Victory in Sweden for Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia has earned Volkswagen its very first win with the new Polo R WRC. Second-placed Sébastien Loeb (Citroën DS3 WRC) made it an all-French top-two on the winter event, while Mads Ostberg (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) finished on the podium.

Video : highlights of Rallye Monte-Carlo

Watch the highlights from the 2013 Rallye Monte-Carlo which was won by Sébastien Loeb (Citroen-Michelin).

News ‘hot’ from Sweden

Recce for the 2013 Rally Sweden started today. Crews will note the 196.61 competitive kilometres at a maximum speed of 70kph but will reach speeds of almost 200kph when serious business begins later this week.

Loeb triumphs on shortened ‘Monte-Carlo’

Sébastien Loeb extended his personal Rallye Monte-Carlo record with another dominant performance in wintry France. The Citroën/Michelin driver led practically from start to finish to secure a seventh win in the Principality. Volkswagen will be pleased with second spot for the new Polo R WRC in the hands of Sébastien Ogier, who was joined on the podium by Citroën newcomer Dani Sordo. Much of the last day’s action was cancelled because of horrendous weather and overwhelming spectator numbers.

WRC 2013… What’s new?

After a two-month break, World Rally Championship action resumes next week in the form of the Rallye Monte-Carlo which will visit France’s Ardèche and Vercors regions, as well as the mountains that tower over the Cote d’Azur. That might not strike you as very different, but the coming season promises to have a special flavour, since it will see not only the farewell campaign of Loeb and Elena, but also the official debut of automotive giant Volkswagen.

The crazy month of June!

Once again, the men and women at Michelin Motorsport face an exceptionally busy month of June, with two WRC rounds and one ERC fixture on their job-list, as well as two major 24-hour endurance races, the Goodwood Festival of Speed and top motorcycle racing action!

WRC Italia: the WRC’s Sardinian ‘Giro’

Since 2004, Italy’s round of the FIA World Rally Championship has taken place in Sardinia. This year, Volkswagen Motorsport arrives on the Mediterranean’s second-biggest island on top of the Manufacturers’ standings and in the top three places in the Drivers’ points table…

A new face at Hyundai Motorsport

The Korean team has recruited Nino Frison as Technical Director. Thierry Neuville, Hayden Paddon and Juho Hanninen, who will represent Hyundai at the WRC’s next two rounds, are currently testing in Poland.

ERC (Rallye Açores): Home glory for Sousa

The 2014 SATA Rallye Açores, round five of the FIA European Rally Championship, was won by Bernardo Sousa (Ford Fiesta RRC). The Portuguese driver was joined on the podium by Kevin Abbring (Peugeot 208 T16) and Jean-Michel Raoux (Peugeot 207 S2000).

Latvala’s tenth victory, VW’s ninth in a row…

Volkswagen Motorsport has broken Citroën’s record by winning its ninth WRC event in a row, but both brands were present on the final Rally Argentina 2014 podium today. Jari-Matti Latvala (VW/Michelin) triumphed ahead of team-mate Sébastien Ogier by 1m26.9s, with Britain’s Kris Meeke third for Citroën.